We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great choice”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The experience of staying in this hotel for 4 days was lovely, as was the personalized service to make our stay pleasant. The location is great but not central to Halifax, best if travelling towards Peggy's Cove, Queensland Beach, Bayswater Beach or towards the southwest shoreline. What I found most pleasant were the super clean rooms, newer decor, the quiet, and breakfast room with plenty of choices and the staff checking in to make sure everything was great showed a hotel with a lot of caring about their guests.

An additonal plus is that the assistant manager went out of her way to make the stay even more personalized and accomodating. My only complaint is that others' lack of awareness that other people might be sleeping at 11:00 p.m. or in the wee hours of the morning and not being aware would talk loudy in the hallways or let their kids run down the hallways, but thats a people problem, not the hotels. Distance to everything was good, downtown in 15 minutes, or towards Bedford. A nice surprise were the stores just at the next exit for everything else the hotel did not
provide. No comfort was lacking, including the indoor pool and fitness room which was just great enough to get in that holiday workout ! I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c-zens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    146
    31
    8
    1
See reviews for
339
427
37
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haute Aboujagane, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and my first for pleasure reasons. As for my first stay, this was a great stay, staff is always beyond exceptional. This is the number one rated hotel in the Halifax area and there are good reasons for it. Rooms are well decorated, very large, very comfortable bed. Great location for shopping, a little far from downtown for meetings if you are visiting for business reasons but overall great stay. We opted out for the king suite this time and I was pleasantly suprised with the size of the room, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody going through Halifax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boisverf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Great comfortable rooms and beds, highly recomended
Location is good to visit both the city and Peggy's Cove.
Breakfast was good, and rooms were well equipped"
...........?..."..............."....".....................

Room Tip: Any room is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Hotel is clean and spacious. Free movies in the lobby, free parking, free internet, super friendly staff. We got a king suite and it was huge! Q-tips in the bathroom which I love, I stay here on a personal trip but would definitely come back for business. Bayer's Lake is a great location for someone not comfortable driving in the city, there is a Superstore, Wal-Mart, Empire Theatres, and various other little shops very close by. We didn't get a chance to use the pool and fitness room but we did go have a look. The fitness room had only a few pieces of equipment but had everything you need for a quick workout on the road. There is also a nice pool, sauna, and hot tub. All and all, deserving of the #1 spot. Over slept and missed the breakfast buffet haha but I heard it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was a clean hotel. Special? Not really. Just a basically decent hotel that is fresher than most. Front desk lady really turned on the charm when I told her that I often write tripadvisor reviews. My husband and I both giggled about her newly found personality and enthusiasm at the mere mention of a possible review! Breakfast.. Adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Having travelled extensively and having stayed at mid range and luxury hotels, I can say that this 73 room hotel is a little haven in a quaint city on the Atlantic. As a frequent traveller I demand service, cleanliness, value for the money I'm paying and comfort. In this hotel you can find all this and well beyond any expectations. You are greeted with a genuine smile and the staff truly care about your stay. Rooms are spotless...modern, fresh and so inviting after a long day. The staff implement a very strict no noise policy after 10pm. They take care of any disturbance immediately. If you are not pleased with the location of your room they will do their best to find you another one. Breakfast is the best I have had-fresh cut home fries, delicious pancakes, aromatic waffles, fresh eggs,yogurts, cereals, sausages, pastries, variety of breads etc.
The onsite restaurant is pleasant with homestyle traditional maritime cuisine. Extremely friendly staff. Quite entertaining as well. Made us laugh on several occasions.
The pool is sparkling clean! Don't forget to order room service-a bottle of chilled canadian wine with a free movie you select from the front desk. I can go on and on. Definitely our home when we visit Halifax again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed two nights at the Comfort Hotel and found the place to be clean & the staff friendly. This is obviously not a luxury property, but, as with all hotels in this chain, it is close to a major thoroughfare. This is good, in that you can get to downtown Halifax fairly quickly and easily, but bad, in that you have the noise from the freeway to contend with. For a newer hotel, the soundproofing could have been better. You could hear everything going on in the hallway once in your room.

On the plus side: the staff were fantastic and the hotel offers free movies and have a fairly wide selection. There is a pool and exercise room and breakfast is offered with your stay. We also received two free drinks at the restaurant "Canadiana" and 10% off a meal there.

On the down side: breakfast was mildly disappointing, but we didn't expect anything all that stellar. Whatever you do, don't eat the pancakes. There was a large tour group in so the breakfast room was full on our second day, so we just grabbed some portable items and went back to our room. Our room was right outside the elevator, so that might have contributed to the noise we heard coming from the hallway.

Overall: exactly as billed a good economy hotel with newer decor -despite the bedspreads (I have a general distrust of such things as it seems very dated and the cleanliness remains in question, even though nothing else suggested that the hotel wasn't clean.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel away from the elevator and, as mentioned, avoid the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danrobe2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,858 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing