We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good choice as others have said”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul, MN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good choice as others have said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This award winning property is a nice place to stay. Spent 4 nights here visiting with family and found nothing to complain about at all. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms comfortable. quiet and clean. The secret seems to be that the owner's daughter showed up each morning during breakfast and went table to table talking to each and every guest. She actually wanted to know
if a problem might exist and if told of one she mediately responded. At the same time, she helped her staff by bussing tables during times when they were being overwhelmed. I asked one staff member about her and was told that she is more than willing to "grab a mop" or do anything else that is needed so they enjoy working with her. While the place is a distance from the downtown area, it is still a good choice when visiting the area

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chucj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    136
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
328
419
37
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a long day behind us and checked in late at 10pm. The front desk was greeting us very, no extremely well. 2 individuals- Jessica and Klong were as nice as 2 receptionists can be. Jessica offered milk for our baby and picked us a free romantic movie. Thank You guys so much for this Super Nice reception! :-)
But that was not all. We had booked the room with a Jacuzzi tub. To our surprise this corner room was HUGE! Comfy king bed and the crib for the baby left more than enough space for our little one to run around. The bathroom had a double sink and an over sized shower.
We ran out of time, but peeked into the pool/sauna area and must admit that this was one of the nicest pools I have seen it the hotels we’ve stayed. Enough said, this place truly is a COMFORT Hotel!

Room Tip: Corner room with a jacuzzi tub is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelllers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here two nights while touring the Halifax area. The hotel was very clean and we appreciated the options offered at the free breakfast (not just coffee and muffins). The staff were very friendly, and Josee in particular was very helpful in providing detailed directions to downtown and other area sites of interest. It is a drive to get to downtown Halifax, but it was not difficult and Josee even gave us tips on where to park (can be a challenge). Another plus of this Comfort Hotel was the proximity to Starbucks, which is right across the adjacent street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sauropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

It's hard to add to the five star reviews here, other than to agree. I would only add that if you are visiting as a tourist, the hotel is about a twenty minute car ride outside of downtown Halifax, which translates into a $25 taxi fare. So if you are staying here, a rental car might make sense. We finally clued in the last day of our visit. It also would allow you to see the many sights outside of Halifax.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orba, Comunidad Valencia,, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights June 11th - 14th at the start of our tour of Nova Scotia and PEI. Just had to return at the end, two weeks later, for another 4 nights,
Best Hotel in the Choice Hotel chain we have ever stayed in.
The rooms tastefully furnished, spotless clean, wonderful bathroom. towelling robes.
and best ever hot breakfast. Staff very efficient, very friendly, reception in particular, Josee was so helpful with directions to everywhere we wanted.
Owner /Manager very attentive, even at breakfast time going around to speak to everyone.
Young lad in the breakfast room, Darren, kept everything clean and tidy and refilled.
whenever going to our room there was always another lad vacuuming the passageway carpets.
Very easy to see why this Hotel has been awarded so many accolades

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here two nights. The employees at the front desk were extremely helpful. the safe was locked when we arrived in our room. An employee came immediately to open it. Josee, at the front desk, was terrific in giving us directions around Halifax. The owner, manager was working in the breakfast room after a bus load of guests had departed and other guests were having breakfast. She also came around and greeted guests and asked if everything was okay. Usually you never get to meet a manager.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed here on June 24. Large, clean rooms.
We were greeted at breakfast by the owner and had possibly the best "chain" hotel breakfast ever! The Canadiana Restaurant, located in the hotel, has a very broad menu selection at reasonable prices, and the food is really good. Would definitely stay here again.

Bill and Judy

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OtleyandFatcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing