We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent and affordable hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent and affordable hotel!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Beautifully decorated (modern) inside from the lobby right up to the rooms! Room was extremely clean, such that you felt as if you were the first person to ever stay in that room. Staff were very friendly and the hot breakfast buffet that was included was also a bonus! There was lots of seating room and several choices so there is sure to be something to suit everyone's tastes. Although our stay was short and we didn't get to use the pool or gym areas, I'd love to come back again with my family and try them out too! To top it all off, the room rate was unbeatable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEItraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    143
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
335
422
37
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on different occasions then tried other hotels (for a change) but were always disappointed.We were happy to go back to where we were most comfortable .They do all they can to please everyone.BUT I do NOT recommend the restaurant attached to it!!!It was a good place to eat but this year it went way down hill.At tow occations we had food SO BAD we got sick.One time the waitress told us that she thought the fish WAS bad when she was bringing it out ,but did not tell us till after I complained.

Room Tip: get top floor,,noone above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caper2844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie G, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am delighted that you have found Our Comfort Hotel to be a place where you can truly feel comfortable and at home. We want to provide each and every one of our guests with a feeling of home away from home. It is truly rewarding for all of us to know that we have achieved that goal and will continue to do so with a sense of pride and passion!

I am sorry to hear that your experience at our on-site restaurant was not as it should have been. I have addressed your concerns with the management and rest assured that incidents like the ones you describe will not occur again. As I have mentioned to other guests, the restaurant has been an operating independent business for almost 20 years which is indicative of its quality and value through the years and surviving the tremendous competition with franchises. Of course there will be challenges, setbacks, restructuring etc. It is through your feedback that we can focus on improvements in all areas.

When back at our hotel again, I would like you to give our restaurant one more try. I assure you, you will not be disappointed.

Hope to see you soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any further questions or concerns.

Kind Regards,

Stephanie Giannoulis
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the 3rd year we have stayed here for their New Year's Eve special that included dinner, dance with a live band, breakfast and accommodations. The staff was very friendly in all areas of the hotel. Our room was very clean. This year was the best experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Most of the reviews seem to be about travellers just stopping for the night, business people and such. I thought I'd throw in a little twist and tell everyone how amazing this hotel is to get married in.

We had the ceremony and reception in this lovely hotel, and also spent our first night there as husband and wife. For the wedding anything we asked for they were right there to provide it. From a glass of water for the Justice of the Peace, to giving us an early check in so the photographer could begin to take photos they were always very accommodating. This generosity and excellent customer service began well before the actual wedding day. Our co-ordinator Stamos was only a phone call/email away to answer my crazy bride questions. The room we stayed in was a corner King suite, the bathroom was huge as was the corner jetted tub. The bed was comfortable although I would like to have some heavier blankets on the bed. There was an extra in the closet that did help.

Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to get away for the night to relax or to a family as a one night stop on their travels. As well to anyone looking for a spot to having a wedding. Once I get the photos back I'll try and post some of the beautiful reception room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCole86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Clean, friendly and great value. The staff treated like family - they couldn't do enough for us. Stayed over Christmas to visit our son. Location is not downtown but has excellent accessibility. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If this hotel was in downtown Halifax they could charge much more than they do. However the location is actually great, it's only 10 mins drive or so to the harbor, but its great for tourists who aren't looking to conduct business in the city center itself. It's also closer to Peggy's Cove which is a big draw for anyone who goes to Halifax. Hotel itself was clean, the room was spacious, and the service was extremely hospitable. Definitely will choose again if I return to Halifax.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I used Trip Advisor to search for a hotel in Bayers Lake early in December; this hotel was rated number 1 and both my husband and I can see why! It was spotlessly clean everywhere, the people who work there were fantastic ( especially Erin and Jesse who made sure we had everything we needed), the continental breakfast was delicious and the fact that the Canadianna restaurant was attached to it made our stay even more comfortable. We will be returning there for sure!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake

Property: Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
Address: 88 Chain Lake Dr, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3S 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#1 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#1 Business Hotel in Halifax
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's newest hotel featuring 73 well appointed guest rooms. Our hotel features a complimentary hot breakfast as well as free high speed wireless access. Some of our exemplary rooms feature jacuzzi tubs and all of our rooms have fridges, microwaves and in room safe. Our heated pool and free movie/video game & game consoles will ensure the enjoyment of everyone. On site lounge and full service restaurant with plenty of free parking will help round out your pleasant and comfortable experience at the Comfort Hotel in bustling Bayer's Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing