We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to share what you order”
Review of Bonehead's BBQ

Bonehead's BBQ
Ranked #96 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Plan to share what you order”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I ordered the brisket with dirty rice and coleslaw, and was only able to eat half of it. No matter how hungry you think you are, the servings are huge and easily feed two people. The brisket didn't have a smoked flavor, but was very tender. I would return.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank letmebeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    54
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caraquet, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Dear God, that's alot of food!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you're itching for some slow-smoked BBQ, you've got to check out this place... But a word of warning: Bring your appetite! These guys don't believe in small portions, and I doubt anybody's ever left this place hungry.

Firstly - the location: it's just a stone's throw from the Train Station, Pier 21, the Seaport Market, and Cornwallis Park. Right at the southern tip of Barrington Street. Inside, the decor is rather sparse, and in that sense it's probably reminiscent of an authentic southern BBQ joint. Order at the counter, then grab a table. We were there for a late lunch around 2 p.m. on a Saturday. About half the tables were taken, which means this place is probably quite busy at noon and dinnertime. Service was quick - we ordered right away (no line) and were served within 10 minutes.

This being our first time at Bonehead's, we decided to try the Pit Boss Sampler - which the menu claims can feed 2 to 4 people. Unless you've been without food for a few days, I'd say it easily feeds 4 people. Me and the missus had enough left over for another meal (which they happily packed-up for us in take-away boxes).

Everything was delish. Ribs were tender, fall-off-the-bone and flavourful, Pulled pork was tangy and moist. Sausage was nice, not too spicy. Oh, and the sides were really good: you get your choice of three, so we went with Mac & Cheese, Brisket Chili and Cornbread.

Prices were very reasonable: Above meal plus three beers came out to less than $50 with tip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckyLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Food and Decent Prices”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for several years and have always enjoyed the food. The portions are good and the price is right, not cheap but overall fair. The only thing that rots me is they will not give you a glass of tap water. The first time I asked for a glass of water at the Barrington Street store they said the place was too small to have glasses. I thought it was a lame excuse but accepted that. I was at the new Fairview location and it is a more bigger and spacious restaurant but the excuse there for not giving water is that they have no cups. This is Canada where water is plentiful and very low cost. Up your prices on the food if you must but PROVIDE WATER if that is what the customer wants. If this policy does not change, I will not go back as a matter of principle.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeNiro57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Nothing fantastic but still a good place to go, prices are 0.k..
I'm not a big fan of a strong smokey flavor, other people love it.
Their sides are great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluenoser55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good BBQ well priced and overall as expected”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

We ordered and enjoyed the pit boss sampler a great way to feed 4 (or more) people for under $35. It came with corn bread, ribs, pulled pork, brisket, sausage, pulled chicken, and choice of three sides. We chose fries, beans, and sweet potato chips which came with a nice dip. Even though we were quite hungry we couldn't finish it all. And it was all good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NovaScotiaRoadhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bonehead's BBQ also viewed

Dartmouth, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Bonehead's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing