We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best East Indian food in Halifax”
Review of Dhaba Express

Dhaba Express
Ranked #124 of 733 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, N.S
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best East Indian food in Halifax”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The staff of this restaurant are very genuine and want you to have the best dining experience possible. The portion sizes are very good, and the sauces are very flavourful. If you like your Indian food very spiced, they can accommodate you. The Naan and the popadoms are the Best! This restaurant, tucked into Bayers Lake is definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    11
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have been going to this restaurant since just after it opened for business and, unlike many new places, the quality and selection has improved. The staff are always friendly and helpful with a smile on their faces that is very genuine. If you like East Indian food or if you have never tried it, this is the place to go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovaScotia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tucked away but worth finding”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our friend told us about a fairly new restaurant that opened behind Jungle Jim's in Bayer's Lake at 8 Oland Cres. We enjoy Indian food so thought we'd give it a try. What a treat! The restaurant is cozy with nice warm colors and comfortable tables. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable and the food was ready in good time and delicious! It has an extra section to open when they get busy or for special groups. They also have take-out and do catering. They have an All-You-Can Eat Saturday Lunch Buffet and a Sunday Brunch menu as well as quick take-out menus during the week for the busy worker. The menu is easy to choose from - not too many items to confuse you - and they have daily specials as well. What more could you ask for! It will become one of our best places to eat when we are in the city. Give it a try and you'll agree!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PiscesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canning, Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little hideaway”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Wonderful dinner here yesterday with husband, son and daughter in law. We had the dinner special composed of 3 curries, salad and saffron rice. It was very tasty. The spinach, lentil curry and salad were favourites. They make their own delicious lentil papadom and nan bread. Yummy! I would certainly recommend this eatery and we will come again!
Diane from Canning, NS

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterossa
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Satisfactory but not great.”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This restaurant is tucked away in a huge shopping area but was not hard to find, even for us visiting from overseas. We felt like Indian and went based on previous reviews. The service was excellent, friendly, fast and attentive without being intrusive. The restaurant is fairly small but the tables are well spaced. The Indian style music was not overpowering and suited the environment.
However we came here to eat and the food was average only. The seafood soup was tasty enough but short on seafood and long on vegetable, looked like sweet potato. Portions are a good size, the chicken tikka contained exactly three pieces of chicken and a lot of green pepper, well flavoured. Basmati rice was good, as was the naan bread. Beef vindaloo was suitably hot and spicy and contained quite a lot of beef. Did not have any dessert, so cannot comment.
Overall, we left satisfied. This is a place to go if you want Indian that is filling and tasty and good value for money but for us the much spoken of "wow factor" was not there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenmac48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dhaba Express also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Dhaba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing