We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Indian In Nova Scotia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dhaba Express

Dhaba Express
Ranked #139 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Indian In Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have been a fan of Dhaba since they started, their amazing service and excellent food. They recently expanded the dining area and now they have extended the kitchen. Their excellence continues to impress. Easily the best Indian Food and service I have had in Nova Scotia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and fresh flowers on the tables, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My husband and I had lunch at this delicious restaurant yesterday. The service was great, the restaurant was clean and had fresh flowers on every table.
When our food arrived it was hot, well presented and delicious!
This restaurant is as good as any Indian restaurant in Toronto and you should definitely try it,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Singent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Once you get over that it's in a big-box strip mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a really nice meal at Dhaba for the first time last week. The rice was light but flavourful. The chicken tikka masala stacks up very nicely against that of any other Indian restaurant I've visited (and while I haven't written of many here, I've been to quite a few). The lamb curry was nice too. It had the flavour and the tenderness but without the loads of oil that I've had often in similar dishes (essentially a lamb pasanda) elsewhere.
Had it not been for a friend's recommendation, I'd never have found this place buried away on a side street in a strip mall among the Walmarts and the East Side Kelsey's Smokehouse Irish Pub (TM): I don't drive through Bayer's Lake and expect to find a really good meal, but we did. Definitely worth a try if you like good, flavourful but not fiery Indian.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank WmFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax, canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They get the spicing right.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

For my money, the key to great Indian food is the spicing. At Dhaba Express, they do it perfectly, making for a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience. Not overpoweringly hot, but an interesting blend of flavours. Delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tommHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, N.S
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best East Indian food in Halifax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

The staff of this restaurant are very genuine and want you to have the best dining experience possible. The portion sizes are very good, and the sauces are very flavourful. If you like your Indian food very spiced, they can accommodate you. The Naan and the popadoms are the Best! This restaurant, tucked into Bayers Lake is definitely worth checking out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dhaba Express also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Nova Scotia, Canada
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Dhaba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing