We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Gloucester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Just returned from this trip to Halifax. Stayed at the Four Points Sheraton which was in the perfect location just feet away from the waterfront and the long, long boardwalk with lots of things to see and do. We arrived early and were checked in right away, all the staff was courteous and very helpful whatever we asked about got taken care off right away. We got a little later checkout, we needed to be picked up and brought to the airport. Done. We had a little trouble with the shower was taken care off right away. The room served our purpose with a separate seating area. The bed was practically new and very comfy. We had a little refrigerator in the room. This was my 3rd Sheraton and I would recommend all of them and should I be so fortunate to go on this trip again, I would not stay anywhere else. PS. All the people in that area were very friendly, genuinely.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (6th), quiet, nice view into a courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    311
    147
    46
    24
See reviews for
159
256
50
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This Four Points is a cut above the budget hotels it competes with. The rooms are nice, with great beds and Sheraton's heavenly shower.

The salt water pool is a bit small for laps but fine for kids to splash about.

The downtown location provides a splendid base to explore Halifax. You can leave the car in the parking garage and walk to most major attractions. The hotel has no view, however, so you need to leave your room.

The only major disappointment was the restaurant that the hotel has a relationship with - Niche.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The location of this hotel is great. You can walk basically everywhere in the downtown area without any issue (other than the typical steeper hills in Halifax). Shopping is close, the nightlife is close but not too close where it is noisy. Waterfront is a quick walk. Nothing bad about this location.

Note: In this hotel there are two room types. Courtyard and not. I would highly suggest courtyard. The trucks and engine brakes are extremely loud at times. It was shocking how much traffic noise we could hear. Courtyard will not view the river (which you can barely see on the 6th floor) but it is worth if you want to sleep in a bit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Easy to find hotel, good location. Nice big rooms. Quiet. Excellent staff. Very clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buchans79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We actually wanted to stay at the harbour-front Marriott, however, they didn't have any vacancy. So this hotel was one of our alternative choices. As said in the title, the location of the hotel is great right down-town and just footsteps away from the harbour-front. We had a king size bed again for a change which was great and the bed itself was very comfortable. What did surprise us was that the mini bar was empty. The double headed shower was great again though. For the rest it's just another big chain hotel. What was kind of annoying was the elevator capacity: only two elevators with very long wait times. The elevator didn't go down to all parking floors which was somewhat inconvenient too.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Very good downtown location, close to the "action" without being right in it. Rooms are spacious and bed very comfortable. Lathe bathroom. My room was on the inside, so not much of a view, but no issues with traffic noise. Hotel restaurant is not really in the hotel and is a bit of a trek to get to, but there are plenty of other excellent choices nearby, so who cares!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeofRyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We needed a place to stay in Halifax to begin our holiday in the Maritimes. We chose the Four Points Sheraton from the reviews that we read here in Trip Advisor as well as other sites. The room we had was an inside room that didn't look out into the street, but rather into a courtyard. Many hotels that have an inner courtyard have it in grass and trees. This hotel had one on a kind of rooftop. What made it interesting was that the entire courtyard was done up in a series of murals that made it look like a city street scene. What would have been a boring view out the window turned into quite an entertaining collection of false storefronts, complete with cardboard cutout people.

The room that we were given was for the most part standard. It had two queen beds which suited our family just fine. It also came with a flat screen tv, coffee maker and refrigerator. The room was clean and the bathroom was well appointed with soaps, shampoos and lotions. The only criticism that I had with the room was that the carpets were stained. Other than that everything was fine.

As for location, it was perfect. This location was one block off the boardwalk on the waterfront. We could easily go for an evening stroll and take in the sites and huge variety of eating places nearby. All in all, it was a very good location for us, since we had never been to Halifax before. Would I stay here again if I returned to Halifax?... Certainly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,704 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax is near the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, offers over 12,000 sq ft of event space, and offers award winning catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing