We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Superb Location and Comfort”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had an excellent stay at the Four Points on Hollis Street. We managed to get a special rate that included parking and breakfast for two. Our room was a large comfortable room and the beds were super comfortable with clean white crisp sheets and nice luxurious duvets. Rooms were very quiet and service at the desk was professional and polite. The breakfast was fast, hot and delicious with our coffee being consistently refilled. The only downside was that the hot tub was being refurbished, so we were unable to use it. Great location, only a couple of blocks from the harbour front and Barrington Street, so the main shops and sights are walkable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay. We have just completed phase one of our renovations, which included: new flooring, beds, and vinyl. We will start phase two in early 2013, which will include: new washrooms, curtains, and hard goods.

Our new beds are very comfortable and have become a favorite amenity of most of our guests.

We hope to see you back at the Four Points Sheraton Halifax again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    340
    156
    54
    29
See reviews for
179
278
52
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Clean, comfortable, and excellent location. The lobby is modern and has indoor parking. The parking was around $20. The back of the hotel leads right onto Spring Garden for close access to shopping and restaurants. I believe the hotel is going to be updated more in the next year. Sadly the hot tub was being redone so we did not get to use it. The fitness room is pretty decent and the pool was nice enough. The locker rooms have a sign saying they have bags there to take your wet stuff back to your room, but both the men's and women's were empty. Everything was clean though. Our room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Shower and bath tub was great. Free wi fi and a bottle of water was a nice touch. Our check in went smoothly, but the man checking us in had a bit of attitude. The rest of the staff was very good to deal with.
The restaurant on site looked very nice and the menu looked reasonably priced. We did not get a chance to eat there though.

My only real issue with the hotel was the central air vent in our room that was very very loud. Apparently this is only an issue in a couple rooms. At 11pm we mentioned this to the front desk and they came up with earplugs and put a facecloth in the vent which made the noise manageable. If we had had air conditioning on we may not have heard it that much, but with nothing on it is loud. The staff was excellent about this, but if the hotel knows this is an issue in a few rooms they should make a permanent fix. Overall it was comfortable and very quiet when the vent was stuffed. I would suggest this hotel for business or for nice adult getaway. All the ladies on staff were great to deal with.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotcandie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
588 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is a larger property that other Four Points I have stayed. The lobby is nicely decorated and the staff was very helpful. Rooms are large and it's in downtown Halifax, near shops and many fine restaurants. I wold stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,809 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,532 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Four Points Sheraton a couple of weekends ago when we were in town for the annual Hal-Con. The hotel was clean and modern, the rooms were great, nice and dark at night, we could relax and did so a lot, we could hear some street traffic but that is okay. Staff was friendly, the pool was refreshing and the hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted and needed to be for four days.

We will be staying there again next year, thanks for a great experience.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor if you are a really lite sleeper so you have less street noise, I can sleep t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGDynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis, mo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I was in Halifax on business hosting a meeting in the Four Point conference room. I feel like I should fill out two separate reviews, one on my sleeping room and one on my meeting experience because my experiences were completely different.
Let's start with the positive. The hotel is in an excellent location! It is close to great bars, restaurants, and museums. The Four Points check-in staff and concierge are great! The room was average. I stay in many hotels throughout the year and the sleeping room didn't stand out, but was completely adequate.
Now, to the negative. I run meetings in hotels at least 12 times a year, and this was one of the most memorable experiences I have ever had. One of the good things about the meeting was Andrew, the catering services staff member. He delivered food for us and kept things stocked throughout the day. He was nice and accomodating. The room was of adequate size and was set up as I requested. However, there were mice in the room. I don't mean mice peaking their heads out of the corners and scampering away. I mean multiple mice running through the workshop, among the attendees. We had to move chairs around to ensure that attendees left nothing on the floor. We had to pull skirts off of the food tables to make sure the mice didn't climb up them. The catering manager was so freaked out by the mice that she wouldn't come back in the room; however, the rest of the staff seemed to think it was fine that we held our meeting in the room with the mice. Fortunately, none of our attendees (from 5 different provinces across Canada) had a phobia of mice. When running workshops with attendees who travel from various locations, we have to make the best of it and go on because we can't change the location to another hotel last minute. I was really surprised that no one at the hotel checked in on us about our experience through the day. I have been at other hotels that would have been mortified and continually checking on the meeting. Even excluding the presence of mice, I felt the conference staff was mediocre.
I must admit that after the meeting when I went back to my sleeping room, I was constantly thinking I saw mice scampering around. It made me uneasy about sleeping there. However, the sleeping rooms were clean and I never saw any evidence of mice being present in there.
One additional comment is that, upon our request, the conference manager is working on some type of compensation because of the mice. But, should we have had to ask?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taysmom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear taysmom76,

I was very disappointed to read that your meeting was disrupted by an unwelcome guest and please accept my apologies for this occurrence. The hotel does have a reputable pest control company under contract and their senior representatives have been working diligently with our team on specific measures that appear to be successful. The conference centre is located in the adjacent building to the hotel and the building manager is supporting the pest control personnel on site to reach immediate closure to this matter.

The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax takes great pride in our service to our guests and I assure you this incident is not our normal standard. One of our sales management team associates will be in contact with you to follow up on a satisfactory resolution.

William Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

very nice people but sink was clogged, had to change rooms, odd smell in some rooms. Not a horrible hotel, but I would stay at hampton inn. Underground parking is best part of hotel. I must say it was quite clean though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Public Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay. We have just completed phase one of our renovations, which included: new flooring, beds, and vinyl. We will start phase two in early 2013, which will include: new washrooms, curtains, and hard goods.

We hope to see you back with us again to experience the new feel of the Four Points Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I've stayed here twice recently for business, and have had pleasant experiences at the Four Points Halifax. The rooms are quite spacious and the beds very comfortable, the staff are pleasant and happy to give visitors a hand. It is very much a standard chain hotel, but the location, rooms and atmosphere of the hotel are truly lovely.

The meeting facilities at the hotel are also great - the food has been fantastic at both meetings I have attended here, and the service has been without fault.

If you're traveling for business or a family trip, I would recommend staying here for comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,858 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax located in the heart of Halifax, within a short walk from the famous Halifax boardwalk, the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, Halifax's farmers market, citadel hill and more. With over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space, we can accommodate a group of up to 200 guests indoors and 480 guests in our courtyard. Host your next Halifax event or meeting with us and we'll take care of all the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing