We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed by the Four Points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressed by the Four Points”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

If I'm only staying at a hotel for a few nights I don't want the bed linen or towels changed, it just doesn't make sense to me. Like many other hotels the Four Points offers such a program to waiver daily change of bed linen and towels, which I availed of. However, my room was cleaned only once during the 5 days I stayed and this was only after I asked the lady at reception if someone could clean my room. I'd like to add that this request was not met with much emotion of any sort. On checking out I think staff should always, always ask the customer how their stay was-evidently the staff weren't concerned about this upon my checkout. Overall this is a shame as the concierge was a true gentleman.

Other than that the hotel is clean and modern, with a copy of the Globe and Mail left outside your room every morning. If you avail of the Starwood Preferred Guests program you can gain extra points by waiving the change of your bed linen and towels.

The gym is comfortable in size and boasts modern equipment, I didn't use the pool during my stay so I can't comment here. To get a view of the harbor ask for a room on the fifth floor, I had a room on the second floor which more or less looked onto the Marriot (which is where I stayed the week after and had a far superior experience).

I didn't eat the restaurant associated with the Four Points, and it's not very accessible-you have to find your way through the building out through a concourse to track down breakfast or dinner.

Overall I would only be returning to the Four Points, business or not as a last resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kowalski19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and concerns on your most recent stay with us. It is unfortunate that we did not have an opportunity to address these concerns on property with you. The Make a Green Choice program is available to allow our guests the opportunity to make environmentally friendly choices by declining housekeeping service. It is the hotels policy to clean the room and change the bedding every three days under this program.
We have a very strong guest service team but it seems you were not given the opportunity to voice your concerns upon checkout, which we do apologize for,
We hope you will not judge us solely on this experience and we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    348
    161
    56
    30
See reviews for
193
289
53
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located near the harbour and is very close to most shopping. The room I stayed in was clean, quiet and I had a glorious sleep in the cozy blankets and soft mattress they provide. My room had a view of the water, which was nice. The staff here went above and beyond as I was expecting a package to arrive at the front desk, as soon as it arrived they called me to let me know. I needed some extra pens for a business meeting and they were more than happy to provide me with pens. My only complaint is that no one helped me with my luggage. I had to borrow their trolley, wheel it out to my car and return it to the front lobby when finished. As a single woman travelling alone it would have been a nice touch to have someone help me with my heavy luggage. On the bright side the parking was underground and heated, very nice on such cold days (-15C). Directly across the street is Spirit Spa, a nice oasis during a busy week. A short walk away is Pete's, a wonderful food market or The Bicycle Thief, a trendy restaurant and bar with great food and drink. I would definitely stay here again, next time when it's warmer!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahMarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanhope, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The staff are friendly; lobby is modern/clean. Underground heated parking is a plus. But the rooms obviously received a recent quick/dirty/cheap facelift. Peeling wallpaper, dirty bathroom grout, Walmart-type decor. But, VERY comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommypei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Four Points by Sheraton Halifax. The Make a Green Choice program is designed to allow our guests to help the Four Points be an environmentally friendly hotel. Our policy is to clean a guest's room every three days when they participate in the program.
We take pride in our team at the Four Points and it is unfortunate to hear that the customer service you received was not at our standard. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to the Four Points Halifax to experience our completed renovations this Spring and a chance to reclaim your confidence in our product and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed here on a weekend night and it was very close to the waterfront which is where you want to be. The staff was really helpful and genuinely friendly at the front desk. The room was spacious and clean, it was a really good value compared to the much more expensive Westin which is just down the street. There was a loud concert going on in the waterfront which we went to the beginning of but turned in early and we couldn't barely hear it at all in our room which was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurabNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us in Halifax. We are proud of our team here in Halifax, and will pass on your wonderful experience to them all.
We are currently starting the second phase of our renovations. All of the washrooms will be updated to match the new look of our guestrooms, which we completed renovations on last year.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here to ring in the New Year in Halifax. The location is superb close to the waterfront, major restaurants and Barrington St and Spring Garden Road. The service was excellent and the hotel is very clean. We stayed on the top floor (6th) and our room was large and extremely quiet especially as it was New Year's Eve. Gorgeous bedding and very comfortable bed. Best rate for an expensive night in downtown Halifax.

Room Tip: Stay on the 6th floor and get room with King bed...best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsp94d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Four Points was referred to us by a friend, and rarely have I stayed at such a nice hotel for such an affordable rate. I believe they are presently renovating; the hot tub was out of commission and the bathrooms were a little dated and tired (spacious though), but both of those elements are in line for an upcoming renovation. The bedrooms have already been done and were quite nice, with some of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. We'll be going back to Halifax again shortly and will choose the Four Points again for the beds and the unbeatable location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay. We have just completed phase one of our renovations, which included: new flooring, beds, and vinyl. We will start phase two in early 2013, which will include: new washrooms, curtains, and hard goods.

We hope to see you back with us again to experience the new feel of the Four Points Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed here earlier this year and my stay was mediocre. So, I was a bit hesitant when our team decided to stay at this hotel...but I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the room and front desk service.

My room (6017) had a king bed (very comfortable), working desk with chair, and a sitting area complete with couch, chair, coffee table and ottoman. The bathroom was quite spacious, and the shower was equipped with the double shower heads you should normally see at the Westin. Very nice!

Service at the front desk was fast and efficient (better than my previous stay). Hotel is in a great location – close to the water, some great restaurants and shopping on Spring Garden Road.

I would recommend this hotel. Ask for the King room for a lot of comfortable space!

Happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax located in the heart of Halifax, within a short walk from the famous Halifax boardwalk, the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, Halifax's farmers market, citadel hill and more. With over 12,000 square feet of flexible event space, we can accommodate a group of up to 200 guests indoors and 480 guests in our courtyard. Host your next Halifax event or meeting with us and we'll take care of all the details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing