We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location close to the harbour and a range of restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
2 reviews
“Central location close to the harbour and a range of restaurants”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Four Points by Sheraton is in an excellent location - central to restaurants, shops and a short walk to the waterfront. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a nice view of the water from our room and the beds and pillows were comfortable. While the shower itself is a bit outdated, there was excellent water pressure. The WIFI is included in the price, there was no limit to the number of devices and was good quality.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    323
    148
    47
    25
See reviews for
168
260
50
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Spent two unconsecutive nights here in two different rooms. Neither one had a view. Rooms are basic, but the beds are wonderful. Pillows were horrible. Hotel has a decent location and is within walking distance to everything including the waterfront, Pier 21, Alexander Keith's, Spring Garden shopping area, Citadel, arena etc. I used my Aeroplan points so can't complain.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wontstayput
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

My husband and I just spent four wonderful days in Halifax.

We were quite pleased with our stay at the Four Points Sheraton Halifax. While it's not the fanciest hotel with the most frills, we felt that the great location made up for any short comings. The hotel is with in walking distance to bars, restaurants, attractions, shopping, etc.

Our room was clean and comfortable. Parking was just under $25.00 a day (including taxes) and it had in and out privileges. Although, if you're staying in Halifax, there should be no reason to take your car anywhere as everything you could need is in walking distance.

We did not eat at their restaurant, but did have drinks there on a Thursday evening. The bar was excellent and that night the bar had a drink special, so the prices were quite reasonable.

On wednesday night, the hotel offered a meet and greet evening for guests with drinks and food. While we did not attend the event, we thought it was nice that the hotel took the time to put on an event like that for their guests.

Overall, we would stay the hotel again when in Halifax.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was great to read about your wonderful stay in Halifax, and glad that you made us your home base. Every Wednesday we have a "Grill and Chill" and invite our guests to a location in the hotel to enjoy food and a beer on us.
We have just completed full guest room renovations and are currently putting the finishing touches on our rooms with new furniture and window coverings. The renovations have brought natural tones of color to the rooms, new Four Comfort beds and newly renovated washrooms.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I've stayed at 4Points in other towns, and they've been fine. This place is looking a bit tired. I don't know if it was the depressing decor (brown painted doors, sickly yellow walls, dull carpet) or what, but it really needs brightening up.
Their "restaurant" is not easy to find, because it's in an adjacent mall on level 2.
Staff were pleasant.
I'll be looking for an alternative next time I'm in Halifax .... this place was just too dreary, really.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank geedee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to share your feedback with us. Having just completed renovations to update the property to the new Starwood approved design, it was unfortunate to hear that your expectations were not met.
We have just completed full guest room renovations and are currently putting the finishing touches on our rooms with new furniture and window coverings. The renovations have brought natural tones of color to the rooms, new Four Comfort beds and newly renovated washrooms.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

It was actually kind of depressing to be in such a lovely place like Halifax and have to stay in such a mediocre cookie cutter hotel like this. Unfortunately this is where my team booked. The hotel was overall subpar and I can't think of any area where they met expectations. While at the same time the only place they were below expectations was in the customer service. Given the opportunity I would try not to stay there again on my next trip.

SPG Gold Member

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Man_from_Maplewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was unfortunate to read that you did not have a memorable stay with us in Halifax.
We have just completed full guest room renovations and are currently putting the finishing touches on our rooms with new furniture and window coverings. The renovations have brought natural tones of color to the rooms, new Four Comfort beds and newly renovated washrooms.
We hope to have a chance to welcome you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Four Point in Halifax as the Westin was full and I was pleasantly surprise to find a nice and modern hotel that may lack the charm of the Westin but more than compensated for it with comfort.

I ended up getting an upgraded room which was more like a suite with a large whirlpool tub in the living room area (that I did not use). The room was very well sound proofed and I didn't hear anything coming from either adjoining rooms or the corridor during my stay. The bed was comfortable as well and although for the size of the room, the furnishing was bare and basic, it was fine for my purposes.

There is no hotel restaurant but the hotel is part of some sort of shopping center where you will find a restaurant that has nice 5-7 specials. I didn't do breakfast in the hotel but I think you can have it there as well.

The location is great being a short walking distance from the waterfront but also from most of the restaurants and bars in downtown Halifax.

Overall pleasantly surprised and will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n8fire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Front Office Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Hi N8Fire

It was great to read about your recent stay with and the positive experience you had with our associates and hotel.
We have just completed renovations, which included remodeled washrooms, new beds, art work, flooring, wall coverings and bedding. We are excited for our guests to experience the new look and feel of the Four Points Halifax.
We are just in the process of placing all new furniture in our guest rooms as well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel in three months and they have been "working on the hot tub". In November it was having new decking placed around it and now it's almost February and its still being done? As well the parking structure is now being worked on (limiting the parking) and the codes we were given to park our car didn't work for the 2 days we were there, we had to ring the front desk every time. The rooms and service however were no problems at all, they were clean and serviced though they tend to get a little loud in the later hours when a lot of the weekend traveling bar crowd get back as the walls are rather thin.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the inside courtyard side for the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax is near the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, offers over 12,000 sq ft of event space, and offers award winning catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing