We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were very disappointment in this hotel. There are no mirrors in the room (other than the bathroom mirror) to check your appearance before you walk out the door. There is no tea kettle to make a cup of tea in the room. There is complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby in the morning until 11:00. That was appreciated. The housekeeping was dreadful. Our pillows were not even fluffed up when the room was serviced. Our head imprints were still in the bottom pillows when we returned to our rooms. We had 2 towels only in our bathroom. Once we had to call for towels because after servicing our room they didn't replace any towels. The duvet was fluffed over the bed and that was the extent of making the bed. Shoddy work by the housekeeping staff. Also it was not very presentable to find the housekeeping card directly across from the elevator for a couple of hours at a time. There are numerous hotels in Halifax, plenty in the close vicinity we won't stay here again. The desk staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi KTP57,

We appreciate our guest’s feedback and use it to better serve our guest’s; I have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate department managers so they may coach their staff. We are very proud of our team here at the hotel, so it was disappointing to read that you experienced otherwise.
We hope you will consider us again for any future travel to Halifax so that we may show you what the Four Points really has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    309
    145
    45
    23
See reviews for
154
254
50
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our group form Minnesota traveled to Halifax recently and enjoyed yet another great stay at the Four Points. Great rooms and front desk help. Also conveniently located to the harbor as well as the some great bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi John D

We have just completed renovations to our guest rooms including, new beds, flooring, wall coverings, window coverings, updated washrooms, and new furniture.
It was great to hear you enjoyed your time with is in Halifax once again and we look forward to 10th annual next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just staying here one night and found the place to be clean and comfortable. They've just reconfigured some of the rooms I think and it's a bit odd when you walk in but does manage to provide a "bedroom" and an "office" type room which is handy if there are 2 of you and one wants to sleep while the other works.
The desk staff was helpful. We had drinks at the Niche, a restaurant that is part of the hotel. It was a little tricky finding it but no problems after that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi CalidorniaNana,

We have just completed renovations to our guest rooms including, new beds, flooring, wall coverings, window coverings, updated washrooms, and new furniture. We are very proud of our team here at the Four Points and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I had plans in Halifax and decided to stay at the Four Points Sheraton for the night and was very pleased we did. The front desk was very helpful in recommended us were to eat ( Niche) witch was great expecially happy hour and you can get to it without even going outside as it is attached to the hotel and is great when the weather is bad.The beds were really comfortable and the room was very clean. We were lucky to get a nice view of Halifax Harbour. The housekeeping staff spoke every time we saw them . The location was wonderful because you can walk any where in downtown Halifax from the hotel no need for a taxi.And if you you just want a snack they have a stocked pantry in the front lobby to chose from much better than a vending machine.I would recommend this hotel and plan to stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor and the room was big and bright as it had a view of Halifax Harbour.It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I myself, live and work in Halifax, however, the odd weekend my friend (who is recently engaged) comes to the city, we like to spend time downtown, splurging on a hotel room. I decided on the Four Points upon hearing great reviews from my former coworkers in Antigonish and clients from the restaurant I work at downtown. The staff were wonderful, especially Stuart who was excellent in recommending restaurants (niche, who is associated with the hotel , and my friend called an "amazing" meal) and overall being an wonderful representative for the hotel. The parking was around 20 bucks a night and for someone who works in hospitality, that is a great rate for being less than a minute walk from the boardwalk and downtown but protected from damage to leaving the car on a saturday or even Friday night (even though its a '98 ford). The atmosphere was amazing, staff were were delightful and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an overall 5* stay in Halifax. Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi Tess M

We have just completed renovations to our guest rooms including, new beds, flooring, wall coverings, window coverings, updated washrooms, and new furniture.
It was great to hear you enjoyed your time with is in Halifax and we look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have had the pleasure in staying in hotels in Kiev, Donestk, Moscow, St Petersberg, Baku, Florida to name but a few but can honestly day that this is by fay the worst. The room was basic and although they did provide the ability to make a hot drink this was only helpful if you liked coffee. The shower went from luke warm to scalding without any warning, the TV either didnt work or came on when it wanted.
I am still not sure I ever found the restaurant although looking at the prices charged I am not sure this was a bad thing.
I did ask the front desk for a place I could eat that wouldn't break the bank, they kindly directed me to a local place which looked nice but then wanted to charge me $8 for a beer, over double what I would pay at home.
I had been told before I went To Canada that I would be in for a real treat, well that may be the case but not id you stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodysampsonRDM, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Halifax, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi KevinNorth,

We appreciate our guest’s feedback and use it to better serve our guest’s; I have forwarded your concerns to the appropriate department managers so they may coach their staff. We are very proud of our team here at the hotel, so it was disappointing to read that you experienced otherwise.
We hope you will consider us again for any future travel to Halifax so that we may show you what the Four Points really has to offer.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Convenient to waterfront, restaurants and other points of interest. Hotel was nice, clean, service good. Requirement for 200 characters is ridiculous. It's a chain hotel. What more do you need to know about it.Requirement for 200 characters is ridiculous. It's a chain hotel. What more do you need to know about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryleeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Halifax

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Address: 1496 Hollis St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Z1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Halifax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Halifax is near the Nova Scotia Sports Hall of Fame, offers over 12,000 sq ft of event space, and offers award winning catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Halifax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Halifax
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Hotel Halifax
Sheraton Halifax
Four Points Halifax
Halifax Sheraton
Halifax Four Points
Four Points By Sheraton Halifax Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing