We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous meal - best steak in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro le Coq

Bistro le Coq
Ranked #52 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown Halifax
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
735 reviews
483 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal - best steak in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Four of us recently enjoyed a fabulous dinner here prior to going to the Neptune Theatre. Our waitress was wonderful - fast, friendly, and spot on with recommendations. I started with the mousse de foie gras de canard and then had the gnocchi à la parisienne . Both were very tasty. Others had the lobster boudin, scallops, and steak frites. I had a taste of the steak - unbelievable!! I think this was the best steak I'd ever tasted in Halifax! Even beat out my experience at Ryan Duffy's!! I can't wait to visit again so that I can enjoy more than just a taste of that fabulous steak!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Acadia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    67
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Didn't know what to expect, and loved every minute of it. It is French, so you need to like that style of cuisine, but if you do, the flavours are superb! You'll be rewarded by being more adventurous on the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaDog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere, wonderful food experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Discovered this restaurant the summer after our our family trip to Europe. Was really great to find such wonderful food with great value. Have visited many times afterwards and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emycorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Bank, N.S.
Level Contributor
231 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great meal with friends and family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Bistro Le Coq has a friendly/cosy vibe but a place you'd be comfortable with friends and business colleagues. We reserved a table for nine and when we arrived it was waiting for us. All party members enjoyed their meal but a couple of highlights was the French soup, scallops and steak. I had the bone marrow (it was so-so not much taste) and the pot-au-feu (very good). The washrooms were clean but someone with mobility issues may find them difficult to get to as they are downstairs. This was my second time to Bistro Le Coq and I'd return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Roberts, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great food experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I always like trying to find a amazing places that serve great experiences through their food , service and ambiance. Bistro le Coq achieved all of that for me, the restaurant was cosy, the server was polite, friendly and most importantly knowledgeable of the offerings on the menu. I recommend this establishment for a "date night" , family gathering or in our case culinary explorer's. While visiting you will need to try the "pot au feu " as well as the house made Charcuterie both were very well done. This is a jewel in Halifax's culinary crown!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron_Delaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro le Coq also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Bistro le Coq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing