We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing stands out, but overall a good experience”

Jim's Family Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #128 of 737 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nothing stands out, but overall a good experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Jim's is an ordinary enough looking place. It's an old diner in the truest sense, complete with a 1950's or 1960's style milkshake maker. Our server was very friendly and helpful, and she offered us good service. The haddock we ordered was very good. In fact, we were surprised by how good is was and impressed by how well it was prepared. The other items on our place (clams, calamari, potatoes, rice, etc.) were ok but nothing special. Compared to other local restaurants, the prices were competitive (though most of the other places we went were located downtown). Overall, it was a good meal with friendly service, and we appreciated the fact that the restaurant was a local place frequented by people who actually live in the Halifax area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GBUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    22
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Underwheed”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I had it ... with Jim's Haddock. Nice pies however. Would only come back for the pies. A lot of antsy children, but it is a "family" restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank can2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Fried Clams and Service”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

If you are not a local you may not think of going to Jim's. I am from the Prairies where we have no access to real fried clams. Jim's is a local favourite on Bedford Hwy that locals have been enjoying for years. I ordered a large order of fried clams and was not disappointed. Clam bellies and all, the fried delicacy was amazing. Some eat it with tartar sauce, while some eat it with ketchup. I choose to treat them as many Canadians do their fries. . . loaded with white vinegar and ketchup. Trust me, it enhances the entire experience. The service was fantastic and I felt like a local. Try this local favourite. You won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank JandLfromRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Place”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Whenever I come to the city, Jim's is a must stop. The food is great, the service immaculate, the prices awesome, and the portion adequate! Already looking forward to my next visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The menu was quite varies and the prices were reasonable. We ate there more than once due to the location. The food was good generally but lacking flavour on one occasion. The décor was seriously outdated but there was a nice view of the water.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jim's Family Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Jim's Family Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing