We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for brunch”
Review of Tess - CLOSED

Tess
Cuisines: Fusion, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great spot for brunch”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Tess offers a welcoming, popular spot for brunch on the weekend. In addition to the regular brunch offerings there is always a menu of special offerings. Five of us went today. Four of us had the Breakfast torte which was amazing. Lots of local bacon, sausage, eggs and cheese in lovely light layers. A nice green salad with fresh berries and a delicious wedge of potato cake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MGM3841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    27
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brunch”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The food was excellent, the service was great and our waiter was wonderful.
I would recommend this place for brunch, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quiet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Tasty Seafood Cakes and Crepes!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stopped in here for supper late one night, about an hour before closing... and still the food was fresh and delicious and the service fantastic. We had seafood cakes with salad followed by the dessert trio (crepes and ice cream). You can tell that this is a restaurant managed and staffed by people who take pride in their work. The whole menu looked interesting and delicious, the wine menu was great, food was very good, made from quality ingredients and the service was great too--even though we were those people who wandered in just as they're starting to prepare for closing! If in Halifax again I will definitely return to try out the rest of the menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa_3847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food in an unexpected local”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Parking can be a challenge but once there it is an oasis of fresh food and relaxation. The melon salad was fresh and presentation was exceptional. We loved the old school baked Brie and will be returning to have it again. The staff is adorable and accommodating . This is a little gem.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobokitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Halifax, NS”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This restaurant has been around for 4 years this Sept., 2013. It started as a creperie but changed its menu a bit and its name is just now "Tess". It is named after the owner's mother. There is a story about the mother and the owner (Liz) in an ablum at the bar. I won't ruin it for you. Just ask your server or Liz herself as she is almost always there. The little restaurant is quite elegant inside and out (they have a smallish patio in the front and a larger one in the back. Very good service always. My wife and I have been there a dozen times and have always had great service. And excellent food. The prices are reasonable $12, 14, 18. We have taken local and out of province guests there and they have loved the place as well. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tess also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing