We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time or money!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tall Ship Silva Inc

Tall Ship Silva Inc
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Relax onboard Tall Ship Silva and take in the view of our charming seaside city. With miles of shore line guarded by George's Island and its graceful lighthouse, guests can keep a look out for marine life. Enjoy a cold drink or snack from our fully licensed pub. If you choose to participate, you can haul on lines with the crew, set sails or steer from the helm.
Alberta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

Very disappointing! If I wanted to sit and relax I could of sat on the bench saved my $24 per person and watched the vessel float by! There was no introduction about the Silva, no brochures sitting around. We were not here for a party but to learn something as a tourist to Halifax to learn about the harbour, St. George's Island, Dartmouth, the Military boats in the harbour and in particular about the Silva I was not here for a party.

We have done many harbour tours around the World and I can honestly say this was terrible.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank seven7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallShipSilva, Manager at Tall Ship Silva Inc, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience.  I am sorry to hear you were disappointed.   During the safety announcement when the ship leaves the dock, the crew includes the history of Silva.  Perhaps you missed the introduction. Our crew is always happy to answer all questions about Halifax's history or the sights.  We also have two 8ft banners highlighting Silva's history as well as interesting points about Halifax City, below deck in our banquet room.  

On our website, brochures and at our dockside kiosk we do not claim that we offer a guided tour of the harbour with commentary.  We promote Tall Ship Silva as a relaxing harbour cruise.  We want people to have a chance to sit back and enjoy the views from the water, listen to background music and participate in sailing if they choose to.  Our crew are very outgoing and interactive with the passengers, so those that do want to find out more can.  As you can see from the above trip advisor review “Halifax from the Harbor” we get great feedback about our interactive crew.

I apologize that Silva did not meet the preconceived expectations you had for the cruise.  If you wanted to find out about Halifax, a city bus tour would have been a much better option for you.  

Thanks for your feedback.

Tall Ship Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    7
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forster, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely views of the harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

A big group of us had booked the Tall Ship Silva through Groupon and got a good deal, there was around 20 of us and it was a lovely sunny Friday afternoon so we enjoyed our sailing around the harbour.

It only went for an hour, they did get the sails up and we had lovely views around the harbour, it was not narrated but for a group this large we had booked it more to have a drink and chat amongst ourselves looking at the sights along the way so it was perfect for that.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallShipSilva, Manager at Tall Ship Silva Inc, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback. So glad your group had a good time. We hope to see you again soon!

Happy Sailing!

Tall Ship Silva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We did this tour based on some pictures I saw on their website. It is a nice ship but very commercial and uncomfortable. We sailed around the Bay at very slow speed and were left to our own devise as they did not comment on anything (no tour guide). It was boring and seeing the destroyers in for their refit in the naval port saved the trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chantal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallShipSilva, Manager at Tall Ship Silva Inc, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Hello Chantal,

Thanks for your feedback on your Silva cruise. We promote our ship as a cruising experience where people can sit back relax, listen to music, see the sights and enjoy a beverage with good company. We do not have a tour guide on board, and we do not imply that we do in any of our online or printed descriptions. Our crew always asks for people to get involved and help steer with the Captain and raise the sails. They are always happy to answer questions about Silva or Halifax's history. We also have information board below deck which notes the historical aspects of the ship and Halifax Harbour for people that want to learn more. Silva is a large, heavy steel vessel and she does not hit high speeds especially within the harbour. This adds to the relaxing experience that we want people to have.

We are sorry that you were expecting something different.

Tall Ship Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty little trip around the harbour...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We boarded the Tall Ship Silva thinking it would be a neat way to see the harbour & learn a little about it--we were half-right.

The crew announced (but not until we were underway) that they did not provide any type of narrated tour, but if we had questions they'd try to answer them. Unfortunately, most of the crew seemed to vanish shortly thereafter, & the ones that were about were too busy tending to things on the ship to do much chatting with passengers. It was also a huge disappointment that smoking is allowed on this cruise.

I will say it was very neat to see the junior sailors' program for the little ones--the young woman working with the kids was great with them & the kids really seemed to be having a fun time.

This is a very inexpensive trip--ours was even buy-one, get-one-free for the 1hr cruise--so I can't say it's not worth it. A very pretty trip around the harbour on a beautiful ship, but (with the exception of the kids) little to no interaction with the crew or information about the area given. Had we known it was going to be just that, we'd have likely gone elsewhere.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallShipSilva, Manager at Tall Ship Silva Inc, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Hello Sunshynes,

Thanks for the feedback your Tall Ship Silva cruise. We really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience.

We promote our cruise as more of a floating patio experience than a guided tour. We want people to come on board, relax, enjoy the view and get involved with sailing if they choose to. I apologize that you did not get the guided tour you were hoping for. We always let the crew know about the feedback we receive and they are going to try even harder to ensure they interact with our passengers as much as possible.

With regards to the smoking, I wanted to clarify that 95% of our ship is non-smoking. There is a very small smoking area located at the stern of the ship upstairs near wheelhouse, the rest of the ship including the spacious main deck (where most people sit), indoor pub and banquet area are non-smoking. We rarely have people smoking on our public harbour cruises but if they are, it is only permitted in that one area.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Tall Ship Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlawn, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice little excursion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

The crew was super, they let us bring our dogs aboard for the sail. At that time no one before had asked to do so, the captain agreed and everyone from crew to passengers were delighted to include two big dogs in their adventure. The sail itself was lovely, but most of all relaxing and a nice way to see the harbor.

Helpful?
1 Thank bijouxabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallShipSilva, Manager at Tall Ship Silva Inc, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Hi Bijouxabby,

Thanks for your feedback on your Halifax harbour cruise. We loved having you and your dogs aboard Tall Ship Silva. It is always a pleasure sailing with fury friends.

Thanks again!

Cheers,
Tall Ship Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tall Ship Silva Inc also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Tall Ship Silva Inc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing