We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at HI Halifax for 4 nights, we have a wonderful stay. Helpful and cheerful staff; clean rooms and washrooms. Can't ask for more (budget range). Very close to waterfront, airport shuttle, superstore.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
13
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The world
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Clean
Save
Friendly staff

Everything the other hostel in town is not!

Pay the few extra $$ and enjoy your stay in Halifax.

We stayed at both hostels so we know first hand which is the best.

Thanks for a great stay HI.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I stayed 3 nights here and really enjoyed it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, though a little stuffy, likely from the door being closed all the time. Though I didn't use it much, the kitchen was big and well equipped for cooking. I booked online and had no trouble getting my room on arrival. If you are looking for female only washrooms, they are available in the basement. Showers small but clean. Linens well used, but again, clean. Half lockers are available in the dorm rooms, you must bring your own lock.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

A heritage house (hence the name) in downtown Halifax. Walking distance to everything, safe location. The hostel is clean and safe, the staff helpful and friendly. Good sized kitchen and dining area plus a reading room separate from TV room. Backyard space as well. Busy but not distractingly so. Call ahead to book.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverton, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Location just a couple blocks from via rail, and short walk to the harbor front. My only dislike was that while you could choose male,female, or mixed dorm, the wash rooms were coed. A plus for the hostel is their commitment for going green. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John1971NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hostel is located 10 mins away from the heart of downtown Halifax and also a 3 minute walk to the train/bus station and a big supermarket so very ideal.

The rooms are good and clean with comfy beds and lockers. Bathrooms were clean with good showers. The kitchen/dining area, TV room, reading room and patio are all great and sociable! It's is really colourful and cosy inside. Some of the staff are great but some of them need to work on their customer service skills.

The only thing that really annoyed me is 3 mornings in a row when I wanted to shower they had closed the bathrooms for cleaning. If they need to clean in the morning it would be useful to state a fixed time so people know not to shower then and can arrange their day around it - for example if they need to check out early.

All in all great hostel - stayed here about 5 nights in total and would come back and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beznee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Loved the location of this hostel, so closely situated to transport and to downtown shops as well as a very large and well equipped supermarket (Atlantic superstore) barely even 400m down the road from the hostel.

I found the hostel charming, the exteriors are old but well kept looking like a heritage building should be. My bed(s) were both comfortable to sleep in.

Staff were friendly and helpful - they were happy to help me book tours and when I left Halifax for 2 nights on tour, looked after my extra luggage free of charge.

Bathrooms were clean and the female showers downstairs were great. Only comment I'd make is that they were so intent on cleanliness that they were cleaning it regularly in the morning at 8:15ish and closing the bathroom off.. A little inconvenient if you really need to use it before leaving for any early start tours.

Really clean and well equipped kitchen, great open dining space also that was a great scene for chatting with fellow travellers

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YPanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,914 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel

Property: HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel
Address: 1253 Barrington St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 1Y2, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HI-Halifax is located 200m from the bus and train station, we are right in the middle of the downtown area, within 15 minute walk of all that Halifax has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Halifax Heritage House Hotel Halifax
HI-Halifax Heritage House Hostel Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing