We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lunch choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Olive

The Blue Olive
Ranked #225 of 710 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
nova scotia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Recently had a great lunch at the Blue Olive.I had the chicken Souvlaki/pita and it was great.Lots of fresh veggies and tzatziki on the pita & served with a tasty Greek salad.My companion had the lamb Souvlaki platter with rice, salad, roasted potatoes and salad.It was a large serving for lunch but he managed to get through it.We shared a lovely yogurt dessert-can't pronounce it.Nice cheery atmosphere with good service.Would definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coldatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sensational Greek dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Hands down, the best greek food I have ever tasted.

I've had the Chicken Soulvaki twice now and both times everything I ate had lots of rich flavour. Potatoes and rice are often bland. These were sensational. Good enough to eat them plain on their own. Chicken was cooked perfectly. Tzatziki sauce was great. Greek salad was amazing. Dinner was so good I had to try desert so I had the rice pudding. Also amazing.

The atmosphere is also very nice and elegant. Feels like you're back at home in Athens eating kalamata olives by the fire place over a glass of wine with your prettiest misses. Great place for a date!

5 out of 5 stars.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NickWolynsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blue Olive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I were at the Blue Olive last night, the service was great. We had to wait longer then anticipated, but the food was worth the wait. Recommend this for a good experience in delicious Greek food. Will definitely be going back soon !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciaphil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

I never knew about this place until we had our work party there. Wow! What an amazing, cozy and warm atmosphere. It was about 7pm on a Friday evening so it was busy but still people were waiting to get in. They didn't wait long as the staff appeared to have everything running very smooth. All staff and the owner have excellent customer service skills and not just with us, but at every table it was obvious. We had many appetizers and all were fabulous! My favorite was the saganaki cheese! Delicious! Also the spinach and feta phylo(sp) and the red pepper dip was great. I don't like calamari but our group raved about it! For dinner I had the chicken souvlaki which came with greek salad, potato's and rice. Everything was cooked perfectly. There is also a nice wine selection.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank eeka24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, CAD
Level Contributor
86 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little Greek experience in Halifax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Reasonably sized, and personable hostess. Cristo served us and did an excellent job at it. We tried the prawns for beginnings with scallops for middles. Topped it off with the rice pudding for a wonderful meal ending. Indeed a good experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 2stepRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Olive also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to The Blue Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing