We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commons Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)
US$273
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveller rating
20
54
52
31
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
54
52
31
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingminute walk from the waterfrontfree breakfastsome tlcclose to downtownantique furniturebooked this hotelvisiting halifaxcitadelprosconswharf
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2007

I found the Commons Inn while surfing the net. I visited the hotel's website and thought, from the pictures that it would be ok. I booked over the phone. I was offered a room with a single bed and choose to accept that as I was travelling alone. What I was not told is that this room was below ground level ie in the basement. I want to warn other travellers who might use this hotel that there are quite a number of basement rooms at the Commons Inn (and not all singles I would imagine) and that unless you like going down a staircase barely wide enough for you and a bag into a narrow basement corridor that smells musty, I would suggest that you insist on upstairs rooms. A further reason to avoid the basement is that while the upstairs rooms have air conditioning, the basement ones do not.
In addition to the basement issue the hotel describes itself on its website as being in a residential area. This is true as far as the description goes - a more accurate desciption would be located in a rather run-down mixed use residential/commercial neighbourhood.
So in a nutshell if you are going to stay at this hotel insist on an upstairs room, realize that the neighbourhood is "iffy", and expect the hardest bed with only one pillow.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank PEI_to_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2007

For the price, location can't be beat. We thought that the neighbourhood was a little rough, but charming in a bohemian kind of way. The desk staff was very friendly and accomodating -- we arrived just after noon hoping to be able to check in early; I was expecting to have to wait until 2:00 or 3:00 to check in, but we only had to wait until 1:00 so that was a pleasant surprise. Free internet at front desk area was a bonus when needing to check in to flight the next day. Room was small (cozy) and basic -- there was a microwave but no fridge - but very clean. Bed was very comfy and easy to fall asleep in.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayjo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We had arrived at the Commons Inn for 3 nights. The hotel is located 20 minute to the city (I am a bit slow walker so an average of 15). The staff is very friendly – the owners are Koreans and they had different people working in reception. Housekeeping service isn’t regular but the housekeeper is friendly. Breakfast is included – cereal, muffins, toast, juice (not real nor fresh juice), tea and coffee, nothing spectacular (breakfast room is in the basement)

We had a standard clean and basic room with a fridge and it was located near the lobby and across the street from the café. The bathroom was okay though there was no hot water at night. The owner had informed my partner that the café located across the street is popular with druggies. There are no other restaurants or shops in the area – everything was in the city centre.

The building itself is in good condition but it was freezing cold in the hallway. There is free communal internet in the reception area.

We stayed here since we were on a budget and it was the cheapest accommodation that provided private room & bathroom ($92.97 including tax per night). A taxi ride from the city centre is $4 (worth the money at night time). The 2nd most cheapest accommodation we could find was the Radisson ($119 plus tax per night).

It was okay but for 1 night, I would stay in the city centre due to safety, convenience and location.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lkplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

We stayed at the Commons Inn over a weekend. The hotel is located quite close to the city, approximately a 10 minute brisk walk. We found the staff very friendly and helpful with our enquiries about the area and attractions within Halifax. The hotel offer breakfast as apart of the price which we found to be quite good ie toast, juice, coffee/tea and fresh fruit were provided daily.

The cost of the room is $99 per night before tax. The room was a standard room and contained a fridge, which is handy, and it was clean. The only criticism we have is that the bed was pretty uncomfortable and the window didn't open.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Curlisue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We were at the end of our two week trip to Nova Scotia and wanted to spend a day in Halifax, Unfortunately, it was a Wednesday and the Rolling Stones were there on Saturday, so the visitor info was freaked out and said there was nothing to be had in Halifax. So we starting to panic as well. They called and of course they had rooms available. After arriving, I could definately see why. We arrived to see the boys out on the street, and immediately were not comfortable. Yes it is in a bad part of town which you could see immediately. We checked in, and our mistake was not viewing the room Before we paid. We were given a room on the 4th floor - no elevators, and had to carry our bags all the way up - dodging around the 7 bags of laundry sitting in the way. We walked into our room and right into our bed. Yes a small room with the TV on a wobbly stand at the foot of the bed. Not even a chair to sit on - yes it was small. Doors banging - people talking noisy outside. We went down to see if there was another room we could look at (when we originally called they said they had higher priced rooms as well) Suddenly - they had nothing else available - because the jacuzzi tubs didn't work anyway. We went back upstairs - took out the cell phone & called a bed & breakfast in Dartmouth who had a room avaible. Took our bags downstairs, and asked if we could check out. They said it was too late as housekeeping had left for the day???? dahhh We didn't have time to do anything - but the insisted they would still charge us for the one night. Our experience from the original call from the visitor info - driving there & checking out was total maybe 45 minutes and they would not refund our $$. Well, money isn't everything and we weren't comfortable at all - so we checked out anyway. The B&B was well worth it. For sure would never stay here or recommend to anyone. Very bad customer service - and for the price they were charging it was a shame for sure. I am sure that's the only way they could get their rooms paid for. In my personal opinion anyway.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank Fishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews