We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not even give it a thought!!!!”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We were at the end of our two week trip to Nova Scotia and wanted to spend a day in Halifax, Unfortunately, it was a Wednesday and the Rolling Stones were there on Saturday, so the visitor info was freaked out and said there was nothing to be had in Halifax. So we starting to panic as well. They called and of course they had rooms available. After arriving, I could definately see why. We arrived to see the boys out on the street, and immediately were not comfortable. Yes it is in a bad part of town which you could see immediately. We checked in, and our mistake was not viewing the room Before we paid. We were given a room on the 4th floor - no elevators, and had to carry our bags all the way up - dodging around the 7 bags of laundry sitting in the way. We walked into our room and right into our bed. Yes a small room with the TV on a wobbly stand at the foot of the bed. Not even a chair to sit on - yes it was small. Doors banging - people talking noisy outside. We went down to see if there was another room we could look at (when we originally called they said they had higher priced rooms as well) Suddenly - they had nothing else available - because the jacuzzi tubs didn't work anyway. We went back upstairs - took out the cell phone & called a bed & breakfast in Dartmouth who had a room avaible. Took our bags downstairs, and asked if we could check out. They said it was too late as housekeeping had left for the day???? dahhh We didn't have time to do anything - but the insisted they would still charge us for the one night. Our experience from the original call from the visitor info - driving there & checking out was total maybe 45 minutes and they would not refund our $$. Well, money isn't everything and we weren't comfortable at all - so we checked out anyway. The B&B was well worth it. For sure would never stay here or recommend to anyone. Very bad customer service - and for the price they were charging it was a shame for sure. I am sure that's the only way they could get their rooms paid for. In my personal opinion anyway.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank Fishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2006

This hotel felt very old and a bit run down. It was not worth the money we spent - we thought it would be okay and not horrible based on the reviews. In hindsite we should have paid a little extra for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EllenandGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Stayed: September 2006
6  Thank eduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank emeraldeyes1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettinaNguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2006

Stayed: August 2006
2  Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
3.9 mi away
Coastal Inn Halifax
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chebucto Inn
Chebucto Inn
#25 of 28 in Halifax
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Garden South Park Inn
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Halifax
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
259 reviews
4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
0.4 mi away
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Address: 5780 West St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: £48 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commons Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Halifax
Commons Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing