We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok & cheap accomodation but bad location”
Review of Commons Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commons Inn
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 25 February 2007

We had arrived at the Commons Inn for 3 nights. The hotel is located 20 minute to the city (I am a bit slow walker so an average of 15). The staff is very friendly – the owners are Koreans and they had different people working in reception. Housekeeping service isn’t regular but the housekeeper is friendly. Breakfast is included – cereal, muffins, toast, juice (not real nor fresh juice), tea and coffee, nothing spectacular (breakfast room is in the basement)

We had a standard clean and basic room with a fridge and it was located near the lobby and across the street from the café. The bathroom was okay though there was no hot water at night. The owner had informed my partner that the café located across the street is popular with druggies. There are no other restaurants or shops in the area – everything was in the city centre.

The building itself is in good condition but it was freezing cold in the hallway. There is free communal internet in the reception area.

We stayed here since we were on a budget and it was the cheapest accommodation that provided private room & bathroom ($92.97 including tax per night). A taxi ride from the city centre is $4 (worth the money at night time). The 2nd most cheapest accommodation we could find was the Radisson ($119 plus tax per night).

It was okay but for 1 night, I would stay in the city centre due to safety, convenience and location.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lkplow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Commons Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2006

We stayed at the Commons Inn over a weekend. The hotel is located quite close to the city, approximately a 10 minute brisk walk. We found the staff very friendly and helpful with our enquiries about the area and attractions within Halifax. The hotel offer breakfast as apart of the price which we found to be quite good ie toast, juice, coffee/tea and fresh fruit were provided daily.

The cost of the room is $99 per night before tax. The room was a standard room and contained a fridge, which is handy, and it was clean. The only criticism we have is that the bed was pretty uncomfortable and the window didn't open.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Curlisue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2006

We were at the end of our two week trip to Nova Scotia and wanted to spend a day in Halifax, Unfortunately, it was a Wednesday and the Rolling Stones were there on Saturday, so the visitor info was freaked out and said there was nothing to be had in Halifax. So we starting to panic as well. They called and of course they had rooms available. After arriving, I could definately see why. We arrived to see the boys out on the street, and immediately were not comfortable. Yes it is in a bad part of town which you could see immediately. We checked in, and our mistake was not viewing the room Before we paid. We were given a room on the 4th floor - no elevators, and had to carry our bags all the way up - dodging around the 7 bags of laundry sitting in the way. We walked into our room and right into our bed. Yes a small room with the TV on a wobbly stand at the foot of the bed. Not even a chair to sit on - yes it was small. Doors banging - people talking noisy outside. We went down to see if there was another room we could look at (when we originally called they said they had higher priced rooms as well) Suddenly - they had nothing else available - because the jacuzzi tubs didn't work anyway. We went back upstairs - took out the cell phone & called a bed & breakfast in Dartmouth who had a room avaible. Took our bags downstairs, and asked if we could check out. They said it was too late as housekeeping had left for the day???? dahhh We didn't have time to do anything - but the insisted they would still charge us for the one night. Our experience from the original call from the visitor info - driving there & checking out was total maybe 45 minutes and they would not refund our $$. Well, money isn't everything and we weren't comfortable at all - so we checked out anyway. The B&B was well worth it. For sure would never stay here or recommend to anyone. Very bad customer service - and for the price they were charging it was a shame for sure. I am sure that's the only way they could get their rooms paid for. In my personal opinion anyway.

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank Fishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2006

This hotel felt very old and a bit run down. It was not worth the money we spent - we thought it would be okay and not horrible based on the reviews. In hindsite we should have paid a little extra for a better hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EllenandGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2006

Stayed: September 2006
6  Thank eduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank emeraldeyes1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Chebucto Inn
#25 of 28 in Halifax
67 reviews
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
119 reviews
The Garden South Park Inn
#24 of 28 in Halifax
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South End
Waverley Inn
Waverley Inn
#11 of 28 in Halifax
560 reviews
Future Inns Halifax
#21 of 28 in Halifax
217 reviews
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Address: 5780 West St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3K 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Price Range: £50 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commons Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Halifax
Commons Inn Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing