We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total rip off”

Murphys The Cable Wharf-Whale Watching
Dennis MA USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Total rip off”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you go in July don't expect to see any whales as they are not around until August and Sept. All we saw were sea gulls. Many people we spoke to told us that the whales don't come until August. I don't think it should be advertised as a whale watch when they know there are no whales to see. It was a BORING
2.5 trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank FranK151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    15
    11
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Harbour Cruises!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

These are so much fun! Go to the Halifax Waterfront, look for Murphy's, and book a 3 hour cruise for a little more than $20pp. It's an amazing way to see the Halifax and Dartmouth waterfronts in an upbeat, music-filled environment. Most of the ships have a bottom level for rainy days, but be sure to go to the top of the ship to see the views. They serve liquor, pop and water during the evening cruises. Catch a cruise put on by the different radio stations, and you'll get free treats too. :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SharonRideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
213 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Tour”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Despite no sightings of whales, I did manage to see 4 seals which was nice. The lobster catching part of the tour was also fun. Bird feeding on the tour was also a plus. In addition, the scenic view of the Harbour was a delight. The tour guides were informative and helpful and I've learnt a lot about the history of Halifax. I am tempted to give 5 stars but due to no whale sightings, I will give 4.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hamburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whale watching - saw a mother and baby!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Today my husband and I went whale watching on Murphy's whale and nature tour. We saw a mother whale minke and her pup numerous times! It was very exciting! The mother actually jumped right out of the water several times. Staff was very nice and professional. However I realize we were probably very lucky to see this .. We have been on a tour before and spent more money and didn't see anything ..timing is everything .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank DeeMDakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Murphys”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My first experience at Murphys restaurant. It was amazing. Our server Jill was so very good at what she does...tasks

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cindelle5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphys The Cable Wharf-Whale Watching also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Murphys The Cable Wharf-Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing