We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Death of Sushi Nami”
Review of Tako Sushi & Ramen

Tako Sushi & Ramen
Ranked #56 of 736 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Death of Sushi Nami”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stumbled upon this place some months ago, and when I saw "ramen" in the title I knew I had to go. I was not disappointment when I sat down for the first time. My server was very friendly, helped out with the menu, and I picked out of first of bowl of real ramen in Halifax. It was fantastic! The broth was so flavorful, and unlike soups in some Asian restaurants this restaurant stayed true to different types of broth from different areas of Japan. A soy based salty broth from Tokyo, and a miso based broth from Hokkaido are only a couple of the delicious choices. The sushi was fantastic once I had it as well (I had to try all the ramen first!!). I used to be a devoted to Sushi Nami but their standards have dropped (at least in Clayton Park), so I was thrilled when I found this place. I have been back a dozen times, and I'm a known face. I always feel welcome and the staff miss me when I'm away for too long! I sometimes get a little extra with my meals; I really feel appreciated as a customer. As a side note, the take-out bowls they provide for soups are awesome!! You can even microwave them! I love this place and I hope they keep up the great work.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Did not expect it to be so good”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Found the restaurant through trip advisor. We were not disappointed, really good, really fresh sushi. The black dragon roll, the caterpillar roll and the avocado kaisen were among the best we have tasted. The service was great and the prices were extremely reasonable. Although not the easiest location to find, certainly worth the effort if you are craving sushi in the Bayers Lake area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank volleydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best in Halifax /Best Service”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The quality of food here is excellent, prices are reasonable, but it is the service that tops it all. Staff and owner/chef are wonderful, genuinely friendly. This will be my new sushi restaurant. The quality is similar to what you would get a Hamachi/Nami.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great sushi restaurant. I have been there twice and each time was excellent. The quality of the food was really high and very fresh. I had the mango roll for something different and really enjoyed it. Great food well priced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
1,034 reviews
515 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Two of us went for lunch. We had edamame, mixed tempura, spicy butterfish maki, shrimp tempura roll, inari and teppan udon chicken. All were very good. The owners/waitress were very friendly and helpful. Great local sushi restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tako Sushi & Ramen also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Tako Sushi & Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing