We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Casual Japanese”
Review of Tako Sushi & Ramen

Tako Sushi & Ramen
Ranked #49 of 712 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very Good Casual Japanese”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

While I might not make the drive out on a regular basis as my usual hotel is in the heart of downtown Halifax, I quite enjoyed my lunch at the sushi bar chatting with the chef. The fish was very fresh and clean tasting. If I had one constructive criticism, it would be that the rice could use some work... It was overly granular and fell apart far too easily. I will certainly be back for dinner sometime in order to try a couple of the rolls and ramen. Give them a shot!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!!!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

What a pleasant surprise it was to discover this amazing and well hidden place!
The hospitality, the cleanliness and the elegance and tranquility of this little restaurant are outstanding! And the food was amazing also!!! Beautifully presented, fresh, full of taste and flavor. We have been to so many sushi restaurants around HRM, the average ones and the good ones ... but THIS place is THE BEST!!!
The owner/chef is such a sweetheart. Very attentive and polite man, he will personally check on you to see if you are enjoying your meal :).

From this day on it's decided that "Taco Sushi & Ramen" is our family's favorite dining spot! I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fair-First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi and service”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We dropped by for lunch and had one of the best sushi meals. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Try the Yokohama roll!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmac51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Halifax! ”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden gem! The service is amazing , the presentation of each dish is spectacular and the food is fresh and delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant above other sushi restaurants in the area simply for the fresh and beautiful food they serve. We will be back !

Helpful?
2 Thank slwallace81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have visited this restaurant twice. Last week I ordered the delicious Parkland Roll for take out. Today I had the tasty Tokyo Ramen (with tofu) and dined in. It was served in a beautiful deep black bowl with an interesting soup spoon. This was the first time I had real ramen as opposed to the little package of instant ramen. It was very good.

I really like this place! The manager is so hospitable, helpful and friendly. The Japanese decor is pretty and elegant. The restaurant is spotless and the furnishings are comfortable and new. The food is very attractive, tasty and healthy. The location is easy to find, off the 102 near Bayers Lake in a small strip mall in Clayton Park. All dishes are well prepared, and served with a smile.

I would recommend Tako to anyone in the HRM who likes oriental food. A five star! Maybe even more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank escape100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tako Sushi & Ramen also viewed

Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Tako Sushi & Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing