We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much noise but a quite a "show" out the window :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not much noise but a quite a "show" out the window :)”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We're here now and in the corner 1 bdrm suite on the 4th floor overlooking Durty Nellie's. Last night, we had great fun watching the parade of young people checking each other out while going from one watering hole to another. It was so much better than TV! We were both on our computers, with no TV on and heard a hum from the street punctuated by the laughter of people enjoying life. It didn't disrupt our sleep for a second. In fact, we used the room darkening curtains and slept through breakfast!

I must add that a couple of times this morning there were even folks manually sweeping the area in front of their businesses with brooms. I love Canada! I've never seen that in the states.

The hotel is just perfect! It includes everything mentioned by others. Our corner room (422) has 4 windows, on 2 sides and we can see the water from 2 of them. It's very comfortable hotel with many places to eat and shop within walking distance. Everyone is helpful and wonderful. In fact, the phone just rang and it was Chelsea in housekeeping. We put the sign on the door that indicated we didn't need cleaning today. She was calling to ask if we needed towels, coffee, etc. Perfect! It couldn't be cleaner or more comfortable.

We have a couple more days here now, but we'll be back again...especially if we can get this room on a Saturday night!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    136
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
87
130
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Ive stayed here several times in the last year, and have nothing but great things to say about ALL of my experiences at this property. As someone who travels full time, it is nice to have that "Home away from home" feeling when I get to my destination.

From the minute you arrive you are treated like family and not a guest, the front desk staff are warm, helpful and ask the right questions to ensure you are familiarized with the property (even as a return guest)

The rooms are spacious and modern with all the comforts of home (even popcorn)

The breakfast is a great selection of hot and cold items and the gym is better by far than most around for hotel gyms.

The hotel is centrally located and close to just about everything in Downtown Halifax, while I did hear some noise in the evening it was nothing more than the average evening sounds that you would hear in any downtown of a city.

This hotel is the perfect escape for business or leisure, and as someone who stays for both often I always look forward to my return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddlypolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed here for one night on Sat., Sept. 8th. I made the reservations for our group which included 4 rooms. The rooms were nicely appointed with nice comfortable beds. The only problem was that we did not get to enjoy any sleep in them because of the noise from the bass music and screaming people (hundreds of them) below on Argyle Street.

I finally called the front desk about 1:30 a.m. to complain about the music and was asked "what music..you hear music"? Really??? Then I was told there was nothing they could do about it. I was so embarrassed because I knew my group was stacked in the same rooms but on 4 different floors. I found out they too complained with the same results. At one point a fire engine tried to turn down the street and took several minutes because of the blockade of people.

The music subsided at around 3 but now all we heard were drunks screaming obscenities at one another.

We all met at breakfast, exhausted and unable to hardly function the rest of the day. Only "I'm sorry" from the front desk..this hotel is too expensive to not even be able to sleep. No compensation for having booked 4 rooms. Inexcusable.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, do not get a room facing Argyle St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seascape_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescenta, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

After walking out from a miserable experience at a bed and breakfast, we sought refuge here and the staff rescued us and made our stay wonderful. The room was large and comfortable with a living room, kitchen, dressing area and bath and so quiet. The complimentary breakfast had so many choices which came in handy when you are trying to watch your pennies when traveling. The location was fantastic and only 2 blocks from the water front so we walked every where. Marriott should be commended for keeping their standards high and never letting their guests down. Thank you, Residence Inn Halifax, for making our stay in your city one we will never forget!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel, with a pleasant and helpful staff, but the noise from the bars on Argyle Street was so loud that we did not fall asleep until after 4 a.m.

We booked rooms here for the first and last nights of our vacation. After the first night we complained to the front desk about the noise. They apologized, reduced our room rate and told us that they are aware of the problem. (They get consistant complaints from guests, especially during weekends.) They promised that if we were to return to the hotel, they would move us to a "quiet" section of the building.

When we returned for the final night of our vacation they did, as promised, move us to a higher floor. They also moved us further away from Durty Nellie's, the noisiest of all the bars on Argyle Street. It did not help. There was constant foot and car traffic below our window. It seemed like every drunken conversation was happening inside our room. The noise was so bad that we had to pack everything (including our sleeping toddler) and move to another room in the middle of the night.

I would never book at this hotel again. It doesn't matter how nice the staff or breakfast might be if you can't get any sleep.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for an interior room. If you are travelling with children, you should kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I would only recommend this hotel to someone if they are looking for a place to stay while enjoying the nightlife. This is in the heart of downtown where all of the 4am bars are located. We did not get good sleep any of the 3 nights we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bash10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The room was quite nice, as is what we have come to expect at Residence Inns. The absence of a pool on site was a surprise, but the hotel being situated right downtown was a plus for sightseeing. The one drawback was the very loud music from the local bars until well after midnight.

Room Tip: The loud bar music was quite evident in our room facing the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing