We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Arrived on the Sunday of the Nadal Day long weekend. The young lady on the front desk upgraded us to a one bedroom suite. Room was great, the only problem is there was a strong odour of a cleaning solution when we entered it. We went out to dinner and returned to find the smell of the cleaning solution gone, but an overpowering odour of cigarette smell in the room. I contacted housekeeping who came to the room and offered to find us another room. However, she never bothered to call back or return. By 10:30pm at night, my kids had fallen asleep. So we unpacked and called it a night.

The next morning, my wife had a headache from the cigarette smell. I went down to the front desk and the young lady moved us to another room. In most hotels, staff would have promptly dealt with this complaint and moved us as soon as the problem was brought to their attention. A guest shouldn't have to complain twice about a health concern to prompt action from staff. I found the staff over the weekend somewhat immature and they did not seem too concerned with my complaint.

Our second room was great. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance to just about everything. Indoor parking was also a bonus as there is very limited parking downtown. Pillows were terrible. We stayed at the Fairfield in Moncton before this property which had amazing pillows. You would think all Marriott's would buy their pillows from the same supplier, but obviously not.

Overall, a nice property in a great location. The inability of the staff to remove us from a smokey room on the first night was very disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve&Reen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    137
    30
    16
    13
See reviews for
88
133
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

You can't ask for a better location for walking around Halifax. Easy walk to the waterfront from hotel. Right next to bars and restaurants. Breakfast has the usual choices - hot and cold. Hotel staff is very friendly, enthusiastic,and eager to help. Manager was very helpful and accommodating with our room even before we arrived. Loved our two night stay there!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haswan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the last week of June had had a very nice stay. Contrary to other reviews, I have to say we had no problem with noise at all. Our stay was mid-week which may have helped, and alerted to this issue by other posters, we specifically requested a quiet room . The hotel staff accommodated our request (off the street corner, opposite side from the bars) and even offered a room that had no street exposure at all- they have rooms that face inward on an interior courtyard. We didn't take the interior room, but I imagine would be a very quiet option. I think they key to this hotel for the noise sensitive-among which I count myself- is to plan ahead and get a room that meets your needs.

This hotel also has onsite parking for a fee in a basement garage that is a bit tight, but workable. Downtown location provides immediate access to many restaurants and a 3-5 minute walk to the waterfront. This area of Halifax is steeply hilly, however, so if you have trouble getting around, that could be an issue. After our first foray out, my wife switched the her high heels for flats.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogi29035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff were all you could ask for. We were on the Argyle street side and it was a little loud but entertaining to watch people celebrate Canada Day. The same cannot be said for their breakfast, when you charge that much for a room you deserve better. When there was "food" there usually was a shortage of either silverware or plates of five days only once did all the food warmers have food in them at the same time. a great hotel if you don't eat.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Argyle St. side if you are a light sleeper. But its fun to watch on the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We walked in with no reservations and were welcomed with open arms. The staff were very accommodating, the building and rooms in very good condition, and a reasonable included breakfast. We would book in this hotel again,

Room Tip: This hotel is located in the middle of downtown Halifax surrounded by other buildings. Ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bil_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel at Grafton street is very well located in Halifax downtown - making it a perfect place to stay for all downtown attraction. Five minutes walk to Ferry Terminal (coonection to Dartmouth), harbourfront and many eateries in close proximity makes it an ideal place to stay. I was in for a business trip and I didnt mind indulging in some cool sightseeing thanks to for its location advantage. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is so si - not much to choose - but you can so much from Residence. Rooms are spacious, clean and beds are comfortable.

Constriction work was going on during my stay - so you should not mind taking short detours near the hotel if you are on foot.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 456CRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a very nice Residence Inn. Our room was very spacious with 2 full bedrooms/bathrooms and a huge living area. It is in a great location in the center of town. The only downside is that it is noisy because it is in the center of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roaddogg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing