We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
187
142
35
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
142
35
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstubborn goatfull kitchengreat locationstreet noisesink areastove topargyle stshort blocksunderground parkingbars and restaurantsrooftop pationeptune theatrebedroom suiterooms are spaciousfront desk staffthe sofa bedfree breakfast is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We decided to use our one night free for a one night getaway. We usually stay at another hotel when in Halifax, but due to a free night we opted to try this one and we were not disappointed. We were a little further from the Casino, but we enjoyed the nice walk on a nice night. There were great restaurants close. One was recommended by the front desk clerk and it was really good. The Auction house, not far from hotel. We enjoyed a few beers across the street. The only thing was the bars close were really packed. Great location, great breakfast. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NADIADON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have had occasion to stay many times over the past year. Staff are professional, warm and friendly. We need a feather free hypoallergenic room. This should be easy but in many properties, it just doesn't happen despite a couple of phone calls ahead. Here, the staff is used to this request from us and it is always honored. We have found the room clean, the beds comfortable. We really appreciate a window that actually opens! Fresh air is becoming scarce in city properties. The warm breakfast is good enough. The free wifi is appreciated. The small fitness room meets my needs.
The location is excellent, near theatre and restaurants.
The construction next door can be noisy and we ask for a room away from the construction cite.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from construction noise
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is your standard, middle of the road Residence Inn. The hotel is clean for the most part, staff are nice enough although lack professionalism. The complimentary breakfast is good. The free wifi is fast enough. Sheets and pillows need to be replaced as they have seen better days. Parking is 19$ and spaces are assigned, which is great until you find someone in your space and then have the hassle of going back and forth from the parking garage to the lobby until it is resolved. Yes, there is a major construction project going on right across the street from the hotel so expect some noise.
The best part of this hotel is its location; within walking distance of so much, especially good food. Try the Stubborn Goat just a couple of metres left from the main entrance; eclectic and excellent food!
There is nothing outstanding about this hotel or its staff, but in the end, it is a clean, solid hotel that will help make your stay in Halifax ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lolalolitaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, complimentary breakfast and free wifi.
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us and we want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a true Residence Inn experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel has nice rooms, kitchenettes. Comp breakfast good, decent choices. However, no fault to hotel, MAJOR construction happening across street. Busy until 7ish evening. UPS (?) next door to room, busy at 6am. Nice enough bar next door that is busy until 2ish each night. Was told that since it was exam week at university noise could have been worse. So, the dilemma, great tourist location, way to loud/busy to anticipate a good nights sleep. Will be staying somewhere else next visit. Don't need to be waken at 2:30 when a crowd needs to have a smoke.

Room Tip: Expect to have disruptive sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped suites as well as the complimentary buffet breakfast served each morning during your stay. We do sincerely regret any night time disturbances that you may have experienced from some of our surrounding neighbours. Our downtown location, while conveniently located to most of Halifax's business and entertainment venues, can mean extra street activity especially on the weekends. On your next visit to Halifax, it would be our pleasure to assist you with finding a suite location which would better meet your needs should you give us this opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I will say we ended up having an excellent experience! Upon arriving at 4 30 pm
our room was not ready, we waited a half hour and still no room, the girl at the desk
finally told us we were getting an upgrade! An upgrade it was, beautiful, to the
two room suite, couldn`t have asked for more. The wait was worth it. The only
complaint besides the wait would be that upon returning from dining out, and
entertainment, we were confronted with a barrage of police in the lobby and the
hotel on lock down. We are still unsure as to what was taking place, but felt
that it was probably handled well.

Room Tip: 414 beautiful!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews