We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. We liked being right downtown and even though it is close to the bars and restaurants that are open very late, we were not bothered by a lot of noise. You could hear a little but we didn't find it or the construction next door that bad.
We stayed in a two bedroom suite. Bedrooms were great. The livingroom was huge and there was lots of room for one more comfortable chair, which we wished they would have added. Only real issue that we had was that the wireless was unbelievably slow. When we reported that on checkout they seemed surprised so maybe it was a problem with just our room. Everything else was just great. When we return to Halifax this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for a week in June. Don't stay here if you want to sleep. I stay at Marriott's a lot but won't be back to this one. It's close to lots of bars and the hotel rooms have no sound proofing. These bars are open late (2am or more) and it's impossible to get any sleep. Not a good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadatraveller201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments Canadatraveller201. We do greatly regret any night time disturbances that you may have experienced during your time with us from some of our surrounding neighbours. Our downtown location, while conveniently located to most of Halifax's business and entertainment venues, can at times mean additional street activity. Our property does however have a variety of suite locations, some with less or even no street frontage, which we would love to show you if are in Halifax again and give us this opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We decided to use our one night free for a one night getaway. We usually stay at another hotel when in Halifax, but due to a free night we opted to try this one and we were not disappointed. We were a little further from the Casino, but we enjoyed the nice walk on a nice night. There were great restaurants close. One was recommended by the front desk clerk and it was really good. The Auction house, not far from hotel. We enjoyed a few beers across the street. The only thing was the bars close were really packed. Great location, great breakfast. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NADIADON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have had occasion to stay many times over the past year. Staff are professional, warm and friendly. We need a feather free hypoallergenic room. This should be easy but in many properties, it just doesn't happen despite a couple of phone calls ahead. Here, the staff is used to this request from us and it is always honored. We have found the room clean, the beds comfortable. We really appreciate a window that actually opens! Fresh air is becoming scarce in city properties. The warm breakfast is good enough. The free wifi is appreciated. The small fitness room meets my needs.
The location is excellent, near theatre and restaurants.
The construction next door can be noisy and we ask for a room away from the construction cite.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is your standard, middle of the road Residence Inn. The hotel is clean for the most part, staff are nice enough although lack professionalism. The complimentary breakfast is good. The free wifi is fast enough. Sheets and pillows need to be replaced as they have seen better days. Parking is 19$ and spaces are assigned, which is great until you find someone in your space and then have the hassle of going back and forth from the parking garage to the lobby until it is resolved. Yes, there is a major construction project going on right across the street from the hotel so expect some noise.
The best part of this hotel is its location; within walking distance of so much, especially good food. Try the Stubborn Goat just a couple of metres left from the main entrance; eclectic and excellent food!
There is nothing outstanding about this hotel or its staff, but in the end, it is a clean, solid hotel that will help make your stay in Halifax ok.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lolalolitaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, complimentary breakfast and free wifi.
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us and we want to apologize for not meeting your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back for a true Residence Inn experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Hotel has nice rooms, kitchenettes. Comp breakfast good, decent choices. However, no fault to hotel, MAJOR construction happening across street. Busy until 7ish evening. UPS (?) next door to room, busy at 6am. Nice enough bar next door that is busy until 2ish each night. Was told that since it was exam week at university noise could have been worse. So, the dilemma, great tourist location, way to loud/busy to anticipate a good nights sleep. Will be staying somewhere else next visit. Don't need to be waken at 2:30 when a crowd needs to have a smoke.

Room Tip: Expect to have disruptive sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIHManager, Manager at Residence Inn Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our fully equipped suites as well as the complimentary buffet breakfast served each morning during your stay. We do sincerely regret any night time disturbances that you may have experienced from some of our surrounding neighbours. Our downtown location, while conveniently located to most of Halifax's business and entertainment venues, can mean extra street activity especially on the weekends. On your next visit to Halifax, it would be our pleasure to assist you with finding a suite location which would better meet your needs should you give us this opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I will say we ended up having an excellent experience! Upon arriving at 4 30 pm
our room was not ready, we waited a half hour and still no room, the girl at the desk
finally told us we were getting an upgrade! An upgrade it was, beautiful, to the
two room suite, couldn`t have asked for more. The wait was worth it. The only
complaint besides the wait would be that upon returning from dining out, and
entertainment, we were confronted with a barrage of police in the lobby and the
hotel on lock down. We are still unsure as to what was taking place, but felt
that it was probably handled well.

Room Tip: 414 beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Delta Hotels by Marriott Barrington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Halifax Downtown

Address: 1599 Grafton St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2C3, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Halifax
#13 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £85 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Residence Inn
Residence Inn Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing