We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential but only visit in summer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbourside Market

Harbourside Market
Ranked #23 of 134 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Has potential but only visit in summer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have only been to the harbourside market off-season (April) for the last few years. The hours are reduced off season and the market is not very busy. It seems like the kind of place that would be bustling with good food and kiosks in the summer, but if you are not there in peak season, I would not bother unless you are strained for something to do. You might enjoy walking along the waterway and end your visit there with a coffee a washroom break and a rest.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    42
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop In for sure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

One of the truly enjoyable parts of our stay in Halifax was cruising the Farmer's/Vendors Market on Saturday. With plenty of vendors, fresh produce, and prepared foods, this market makes quite a spectacle for all the senses. Sights, sounds, smells, and tastes galore. We especially enjoyed the organic items (wine, cheese, produce...), the artists' work, and the local music and culture.
Given that this is a FREE event...put it on your must-do list!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely market in a great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was a wonderful find. A lovely location on the water. Wonderful food and options from flowers to chocolates to crafts. There's so much to see here, the people are delightful and the location is great. I had a blast. Totally worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cdnfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Amazing variety of foods, crafts and wares on Saturdays. Spectacular and really worth a visit. The glassware, jewellery, soaps, local produce, bakeries, dairies and entertainment are just a few of the options to keep you busy. I recommend you have breakfast there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rhobru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place to go in Halifax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

If you're in Halifax for the weekend, visit the market on the harbourfront. It has a huge number of vendors, with great eats and great products. I love the singing chef who makes delicious wraps! And I love the fresh breads and homemade sweets. The summer/fall is the best time for produce, but I was pleasantly surprised by the greens available even in March.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisablue154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbourside Market also viewed

 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Harbourside Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing