We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining”

Alexander Keith's Brewery
Ranked #11 of 138 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In 1820, Alexander Keith established his brewery in the heart of Halifax. Now, 196 years later, we’re proud to welcome you back into our home on Lower Water Street, the Alexander Keith’s Nova Scotia Brewery. We invite you to come and visit us at our beautifully restored and renovated brewery, and to try our exciting new beers crafted by our brewmaster, Stefan Gagliardi. Cheers to all things raised in Nova Scotia.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The actors were very committed and a lot of fun to interact with. Shame you don't get to see the actual modern brewery (if it's even located there!) but you do learn about the process and the kind of person Keith was. Of course there's free samples at the end, as well as some excellent song and dance by the tour guides!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    222
    108
    46
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ditto overpriced, over the top, and overacted”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This tour would have been much more supportable if we had received beer at the beginning instead of the end. The songs were fine but the screaming actors take away from the experience. Go see a show at a community theater and have a beer during intermission; you'll have a better time and it will cost less than the AK tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ck76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Overpriced, over the top, overacted”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you are looking for a brewery tour, skip this altogether. THere is overall very limited informative content in this activity which should be billed as a performance rather than a tour.

The fundamentals are there: great location, steeped in history, picturesque vats, barrels and setting, an opportunity to sample a bunch of brews and fairly good albeit unexpected singing.

Yes singing.

Because here's the trouble: you are basically being carted around by young actresses belting their lines at the top of their lung and (deliberately?) overacting to the point of coming across as somewhat unhinged.

If you singed up for this knowingly, you'll have a great time. If you thought you were singing up for history and culture, you might find the $20 something entry price on the hefty side.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very entertaining activity plus beers!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I did this tour our last night in Halifax and really enjoyed it.The actors were good and you receive 2 half pint sample pours during the tour.Some might feel the price a bit high but it was definitely worth it-a nice activity - wish they sold the beers in the US-very good quality beers.I may have to check their website to see if they ship!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Story telling tour, but very interesting... and beer!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I don't know how some people didn't give this at least a 3-4 star review, as it's not a traditional tour of how they make the beer, (although there is a little bit of that) - but really how exciting is it to look at giant stainless steel vats anyway?
This tour is very theatrical, and does bring you back to this history of Alexander Keith himself - why he came to Nova Scotia to Brew, history of the brewery and building etc.
Entertaining and comical - my wife and I both enjoyed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alexander Keith's Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Alexander Keith's Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing