We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A typical Courtyard, which means clean & simple, but you can't beat the location. Within walking distance to everything downtown. Next door to a great pub, & plenty of restaurants throughout the area. Get an odd-numbered room & you'll have a glimpse of the harbour. Hotel parking is $23 US daily. Street parking is metered Mon-Fri 8A-6P, but free at night & weekends -- & they DEFINITELY ticket. Airport shutte stops/picks-up here ($19 one way). A good choice, where I have stayed 2 different trips.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

I did not stay at this hotel but was blown away by the service and hospitality shown by the staff. It was my best friends wedding and we had wanted to use the spot as a photo opportunity as it is attached to the Keith's Brewery which is a beautiful building. As we were outside, and being a fairly large wedding party, we managed to take up a bit of space and definitely slowed down employees trying to get into the staff parking. We had not asked permission to use their site and were expecting the worse when one the the staff came out to talk to us. To our dismay, she gave the bride and groom a big congrats and proceeded to offer us access to their rooftop terrace for as many photos as we needed. The staff was so kind and generous for the short time that we were there. For not being guests of the hotel, they certainly set a standard for all businesses in the industry. Thank you for making that day so special!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

More than 65 countries, hundreds of hotels, and this is my first review - EVER! It took this great an experience to compel me to post. Could be the warmest welcome we've ever received, and that attitude prevailed throughout our stay from every single staff member. Rooms are excellent. Location is perfect. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Location perfect, parking easy w/ valet, front desk staff always helpful w/ directions and great suggestions. They were patient and caring.

Great representatives for the hotel !

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a great surprise when you arrive at the hotel. The staff is very friendly and you can see this place is very clean. It was my first time at this hotel but it will be my choice in the future. It is VERY close to the harbour and if you have a room with a view , well it is nice. it is walking distance of everything: citadel , casino, the gardens, and the boat tours in the harbour. The scallops with inguine is just amazing if you have it from their restaurant , the double eagle. They also have a big deck on the 8th floor where you have a nice view of the harbour and city.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floors , you will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farm2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My family of four recently spent one night at the Courtyard by Marriott Halifax. Our room had a waterfront view. The staff members were very kind and friendly. The hotel was very clean. I felt very safe. The room was of good size with a mini refrigerator in it. The hotel provided the roll away bed that my teen requested upon my making our reservation. I loved that it was in the room upon arrival and that we didn't have to call and remind the desk.
This hotel is next to Alexander Keith's Tavern. The Red Stag pub was a 1 minute walk from the lobby. It's also within easy, easy walking distance of the waterfront shops and restaurants. It's across the street from an amazing coffee shop called the Coffee Cabin.
The hotel lobby has couches, with comfortable lighting, but also a double sided fireplace. The bartender offered a sample of one of the red wines that I had to choose from. The market place offered snacks for my family to purchase and take up to the room. The internet was free, although parking was not, but that appears to be a common charge at waterfront Halifax hotels.
The valet was very helpful with our car but also tips on walking directions.
The Courtyard was all that I expected and wanted. No disappointments!

Room Tip: Ask and you shall receive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliciac2bigkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very clean with very personable staff. Very good location. Within walking distance to several restaurants, pubs, wharf, shopping, casino, and Citadel. The down side is you have to pay to park at $20 per day. If you are staying in Halifax you probably won't need your car because you can walk from the hotel to several hot spots. Our view was a very nice view of the harbor. While there make sure to go next door and get the cinnamon rolls. They don't make them on Sunday but are available every other day. I think the place is Mary's bakery. The front desk can help you with the name if that isn't correct but it is by the brew pub. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windyflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,088 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £91 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing