We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff!”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Courtyard three straight Friday's in August. Each visit we were assigned the same room on the 8th floor with a great harbor and water view. There is also a terrace on that floor with a wonderful harbor and water view. We stay at Marriott properties frequently, both or us are gold elite, and chose this hotel for it's location. It is handy to restaurants, the harbor and shopping.
From the moment we walked in we felt welcome and at home. The staff is amazing, each time they promptly greeted us and went out of their way to be helpful. I am talking about all staff--everyone with whom we had contact--ex. front desk, valet, our server at breakfast, housekeeping--this is an all around gold star staff! I was so impressed with their friendliness and desire to help. I highly recommend this hotel, you will not be disappointed. When we go back to Halifax we will definitely return to this courtyard!

Room Tip: Request a water veiw. The city view would also be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    199
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
132
230
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I usually stayed at te Marriot Harborfrontg about 1/2 mile down the street but after a mediocre experience my last trip I decided to try this Courtyard. I was blown away by the courteous staff and the hotel itself. As a platinum rewards member I was upgraded to a well appointed suite that had a view of the harbor. The valet service quickly brought the car down whenever I needed it. There are many great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Do yourself a favor and pack a windbreaker even during the summer months. The high was 57 when I was there and I scrambled to find one that was not $300. This Courtyard will be my new home away from home when I travel to Halifax!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCRDSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

A typical Courtyard, which means clean & simple, but you can't beat the location. Within walking distance to everything downtown. Next door to a great pub, & plenty of restaurants throughout the area. Get an odd-numbered room & you'll have a glimpse of the harbour. Hotel parking is $23 US daily. Street parking is metered Mon-Fri 8A-6P, but free at night & weekends -- & they DEFINITELY ticket. Airport shutte stops/picks-up here ($19 one way). A good choice, where I have stayed 2 different trips.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I did not stay at this hotel but was blown away by the service and hospitality shown by the staff. It was my best friends wedding and we had wanted to use the spot as a photo opportunity as it is attached to the Keith's Brewery which is a beautiful building. As we were outside, and being a fairly large wedding party, we managed to take up a bit of space and definitely slowed down employees trying to get into the staff parking. We had not asked permission to use their site and were expecting the worse when one the the staff came out to talk to us. To our dismay, she gave the bride and groom a big congrats and proceeded to offer us access to their rooftop terrace for as many photos as we needed. The staff was so kind and generous for the short time that we were there. For not being guests of the hotel, they certainly set a standard for all businesses in the industry. Thank you for making that day so special!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

More than 65 countries, hundreds of hotels, and this is my first review - EVER! It took this great an experience to compel me to post. Could be the warmest welcome we've ever received, and that attitude prevailed throughout our stay from every single staff member. Rooms are excellent. Location is perfect. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Location perfect, parking easy w/ valet, front desk staff always helpful w/ directions and great suggestions. They were patient and caring.

Great representatives for the hotel !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HWM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

What a great surprise when you arrive at the hotel. The staff is very friendly and you can see this place is very clean. It was my first time at this hotel but it will be my choice in the future. It is VERY close to the harbour and if you have a room with a view , well it is nice. it is walking distance of everything: citadel , casino, the gardens, and the boat tours in the harbour. The scallops with inguine is just amazing if you have it from their restaurant , the double eagle. They also have a big deck on the 8th floor where you have a nice view of the harbour and city.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floors , you will have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farm2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,920 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing