We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga County, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Attractive and Comfortable”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The hotel is attractive, well maintained and comfortable. It is in a great location; right next to Alexander Keith’s Brewery Warehouse, which has been renovated into shops and restaurants, and within very easy walking distance of the Maritime Museum and other harbor attractions. A bit further away, and uphill, are more restaurants, and a few more uphill blocks, but still within walking distance, is the Halifax Citadel, a restored fort where they still fire the cannon at noon.

On the downside, the Internet connection, both wireless and wired, while no additional cost, require you to enter a key in your browser just about each time you turn your computer on. I can understand once per visit, or once per day, but this system is far too intrusive, especially if you have a laptop, smartphone and e-reader, such as a Kindle. The bath towels were also not as thick as those I normally find at Courtyards; they were more like those at a Fairfield Inn.

The hotel also does not have the breakfast buffet that is commonly found in Courtyards in the U.S. Breakfast must be ordered off the menu. This was not a problem the first morning. The menu selection is extensive and service was fast, even though I ordered a special item. However, on day 2, service was very slow even though we ordered right off the menu; so slow that had this been a business trip instead of vacation, I may have had to pass on breakfast in order to not miss my morning appointment. If the hotel does not want to offer a buffet, they must make sure they have enough kitchen staff to serve their guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highcountrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    191
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
126
217
38
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I have stayed at all of the hotels down by the harbour. This is a very nice area, great to walk around, best restaurants in the city. This Hotel is only 4-5 years old. It was very nice. Rooms are nice and rates are respectable. The lobby is nice, has a wine bar with a nice selection. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uriah, Al
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Great place to stay. Great location & can walk to most places. Only ate one meal there & at first I thought their service was slow & prices high but come to find out, that was pretty much the case all over Halifax.

Room Tip: Use the internet at the business center; no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is only a few years old and is located one street from the waterfront. There is a walking path to the waterfront attractions and it is close to the Neptune Theatre and great restaurants. The hotel is clean and the staff very friendly. We have stayed here several times, as have friends and family.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are nice, however the less expensive view is of the Alexander Keith brewery, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We were so happy to have recently spent 2 nights at this beautiful property. The location is close to everything (restaurants, shops, boardwalk) yet wonderfully quiet. The staff were so welcoming and friendly. Our king room was modern, spotless and very comfortable. Internet access was free in the room. The zen garden on the 3rd floor and the beautiful terrace on the 8th floor offer scenic views of the city and harbour. We paid the same price that we had paid for our stay at the Westin Nova Scotian, and there was no comparison to the two experiences (also one of my reviews). Unfortunately we weren't able to experience the restaurant this time, but the menu looked fantastic! We'll definitely stay here next time!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank far2go2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada Nicaragua
Level Contributor
297 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Very nice place to stay...clean, homey feel. Right in the middle of the city and close to shops, eateries. Just the right size, not too big but big enough to have all of what you need. Polite, good service. Good for business or families

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel on business in September
and I would absolutely recommend it.
Very clean, free wifi, nice rooms and plenty to do in the area.
I am a fan of the Marriott chain because I find them to be consistent
and this hotel will not disappoint. It's in a great location and they have a nice
roof top where you can just relax and take in the views.
No complaints!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveagoodgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing