We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I spent a week at the Courtyard Halifax. Unfortunately I arrived the night the staff was getting ready for their Christmas party so the kitchen was closed to the guest. I had to order food from one of the nearby restaurants or go out. Not a problem. The restaurant directly outside the courtyard will deliver room service and there are great restaurants nearby.

Good location for where I needed to go and the staff was attentive. I found the rooms a bit cold and the thermostat on the wall did nothing to heat it. I cranked that baby as far as it would go and it did not produce more heat.

Need a taxi? Don from Casino Taxis was excellent. He was always near the hotel and if he wasn't nearby and he made a commitment with you, he made sure somebody else was there. I used him and his colleagues to drop me off at QEII and to pick me up in the evenings for 3 days and to take me to the airport and they were always on time everytime.

Hotel food was ok but as previously stated, there are other options nearby in the Brewery Market. I noticed that they delivered exactly what you ordered to your room. For example, there was never any bread with my entree or even a glass of water. I found this a little different from other hotels I've frequented.

It was winter and very cold so I did not venture out but the location is perfect for summer walks along the harbor. My room gave me an awesome view of the harbor, After I returned home, my brother-in-law told me I should have stayed at the Marriott because I would not have had to go outside to get to the casino and other activities in the area.

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    194
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
127
221
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great location and view (from the 7th floor) but sooooo noisy!! The walls were paper thin we heard the TV on one side and people talking on the other. You could hear people walking and talking in the hallways. Shortly after 1am our alarm clock went off!!! YUP housekeeping failed to check that, it gets better the 2nd alarm was set for 20 minutes later and in the room beside us (they weren't in the room so that kept buzzing). When we told the staff in the am about it she said oh that's too bad, hopefully you'll be back.
Location is great and view was beautiful, room was basic with an old TV. Clean room needs updating. Pool was very small, the smallest pool I've ever seen. Gym was small with a few machines.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingLifeFull2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

The hotel has an excellent location. We stayed here for 3 nights and pubs, restaurants and shopping were all within walking distance. We had a king, waterview room and the room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a nice size and we were supplied with extra towels. There was a sofa, coffee maker and mini fridge in the room. The AC in the room didn't seem to be working properly. I found it strange that the temperatures on the thermostat were in Fahrenheit rather than Celsius. Anyways no matter how low we set the temperature we keep waking up during the night sweating. The sheets were very thin and on my side it was torn. The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful and there was complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate in the lobby during certain hours. It was great value for the price we paid and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maclor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed here for business for 2 nights in November 2012 and the location is central, however I was a little disappointed with the room.

The room itself is awkward and outdated. The TV's are from the late 90's, and they are positioned off to the side of the bed. If you want to watch tv in bed, you have to pull it out and turn it towards the bed. I haven't been to a hotel in ages, that hasn't updated their TV's to flat screens. Wall paper in the washroom was peeling off the wall, and the drapes in the bedroom had stains. Also, it was extremely cold in the room, and even though I adjusted the heat, nothing happened.

The maids in the morning were annoying as well, they start knocking on people's doors at 7:30 am, so I learned very quickly to put the do not disturb on my door knob.

On another note, the ladies at the front desk were very welcoming and always very polite.

The next time I travel to Halifax for business, I think I will try the Westin.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmOkeythebear22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This Courtyard Marriott hotel is modern and well kept. The staff is consistently friendly (although most all Maritimers are friendly!). Rooms are spacious and quiet. Bathrooms are clean and modern. Breakfast in the restaurant is always tasty. There is no self-park, only valet parking. Many Pubs and restaurants are within walking distance. Halifax harbour is only a block away! The lounge in lobby is quaint.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nb Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This Marriott is located on the waterfront in Downtown Halifax, the room we stayed had a large king size bed, and overlooked the water. contemporary design, with all the amenities, not overly fancy but very nice. and we got a sweet deal from price line.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doggerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The hotel is located downtown near the water and numerous good restaurants, parking is valet parking at twenty bucks a day yet no one outside to even offer to help. Room very large, great mattress and large bathroom. But TV is a relic from 1990's and don't fit in the decor. The room was not spotless. Given it was a week end it was very quiet. The pool is located on first floor so you end up meeting incoming guests in bathing suits off the main lobby and a little wet coming back and since they were no robes in the room it's a little embarrassing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danoonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,806 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing