We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Edwardsville, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Comfortable and accommodating”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved the fireplace in the lobby. We had fun taking pics of the sleigh they had there as well.
The room was nice and the beds were comfortable. It was winter so couldn't see much from the window
I enjoyed the exercise room and pool.
It was nice to go down to the lobby later in the evening and have a drink. The setup of the bar is open and part of the lobby. When they closed at 11, my friend and I had a glass of wine in front of the fireplace. We were there for at least an hour talking. It was great. This is the second time I stayed at this hotel. Staff were great.
It was also great to pay $20.00 for parking and they parked it for you. Didn't have to deal with downtown parking

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    193
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
126
221
38
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
316 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

For this New Year's we decided to get a room in Halifax, but not just any room. We wanted one with a great view of the harbour. There are surprisingly few hotels actually on or near the waterfront. One of them is the Courtyard which we had stayed in years before and knew that it had great views from its upper floors along with an outdoor deck for guests only. I requested a room on the top floor and upon check in was assigned Room 817 which is the closest to the water. It had a magnificent view of George's Island and the harbour entrabce. Directly below was the Brewery Market.

I tried to get a suite but these were all gone, but settled for a room with a balcony. Room 817 would certainly be called a suite by most as it had a sitting area separated from the sleeping area. It was certainly big enough to host two other couples.

Lots of good standard items - small fridge, free internet anda good work station with a pullout.table. Free coffee in the morning. Because of the configuration the balcony for Room 817 is quite large and would be a great place to people watch in warmer months.

The lobby of the Courtyard is very welcoming and is adorned with artifacts discovered on the site during construction, something we first saw at Auberge St. Antione in Quebec City. It is a good reminder that Halifax has more than 260 years of history. Overall the cost was well in line for the type of room and view we had.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First time staying here. Nice to be at other end of waterfront for a change. Easy to drive into courtyard - couple of entrances, one from Salter, one from Water Street. Pretty decorations for Christmas at entrance and inside. Very, very comfortable - the lobby area as well as the very attractive room which looked straight out to part of Halifax Harbour. Couch and coffee table, desk, tv, as well as king size bed - a big room. Coffee. There is a restaurant directly across the driveway from the main entrance. I was a little disappointed that I could not get lunch there as it did not open until dinner time but the Brewery Market is right next door to the hotel and I had some really good Chinese food at Cheelin in there. Very friendly helpful staff at hotel. There is a breakfast buffet - a little hidden at the back of the lobby area but we had decided to go to Cabin Coffee just up the hill from the hotel anyway and that was lovely. Hotel has a swimming pool, although we didn't use it. We also went elsewhere for dinner because we realy like the Suzuki Japanese restaurant on Dresden Row so I can't rate the actual hotel restaurant, however we had some food through room service later that evening: spinach/feta dip with pita, bruschetta and a piece of vanilla cheesecake and that was all very good.

Room Tip: I guess the higher you go the more of a view you get :-) We were on the fifth floor (there are seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polygona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Visiting Halifax for a week and found the Courtyard to be an excellent choice. Conveniently located for all the attractions, particularly the Maritime Museum and the docks and easy walking distance of the stores downtown and on Spring Gardens Road. The rooms are large and well appointed - and spotlessly clean. Beds are to the usual high Marriott standard. Breakfast was disappointing so I would recommend the outstanding coffee shop half a block up the hill. There is a good restaurant - The Cut - on the same site which served excellent seafood, though the service was a bit slow

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank encal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It was our first time in Halifax and this hotel provided just what we needed - comfortable beds, proximity to the waterfront, attentive professional staff and delicious food through room service when we just did not want to go out one more time for dinner. We stayed for 3 nights in the king suite which does not have a water view but met our needs perfectly. I enjoyed an incredible massage treatment at the spa located in the hotel - there is nothing better than taking the elevator to a spa and returning to your room without the hassle of parking or even going outside.
One night we were able to walk to the Brewery next door for a lovely casual dinner. We loved the Farmers Market which is also close to the hotel and has a wide and diverse range of food and produce - we picked up some wonderful breads, cheeses, wines and chocolates from the market.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenAdena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Good day EllenAdena , thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.

This is exactly the level service we strive for daily. We believe our location to be the best in downtown Halifax within proximity to all necessary amenities with just a short walk. I was glad to hear you were able to pamper yourself while with us and do hope you come back for another visit soon.

Again thank you for sharing this feedback with the world.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I came to Halifax for my first time this year and I had the pleasure of staying at the Courtyard Marriott Halifax. The Courtyard's accommodations were pristine and the staff were very helpful with any questions or requests I had. I would say it is the best location to stay in Halifax, so close to the waterfront, stores and restaurants. I highly recommend the Courtyard Marriott Halifax to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the courtyard Marriott. My room had an excellent view of the waterfront, bishops landing and the brewery market. My room was very clean and the bed was comfy. Front desk staff were helpful, Lakhsmi checked me in and she was very friendly and professional. The hotel is located downtown on the waterfront so you have an easy walk to all major attractions. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindsay115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Good day Lindsay115, thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us.

We feel our views are the best in the city. The ones overlooking the brewery market into the Halifax harbour are my personal favourite..and just a great snapshot of old Halifax. I will be sharing this feedback with the team and most importantly Lakhsmi. She is a wonderful person whom takes great care of all of our guest.

Sincerely,
Dave
dave@courtyardhalifax.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing