We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newly renovated great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

we were pleasantly surprised at the new renovations at this hotel. When we booked it the web site did not indicate they were renovating. I don't think anyone had actually stayed in the room we did before.
The location is good, easy to get to from the highway. You can park your car (valet underground only $19/day) and walk anywhere you need to on the waterfront. We were on the 4th floor, ask for rooms on the 6th or 7th to get the best view. Especially rooms # 18, #20, #21, # 22 on either of those 2 floors, or anywhere on the 8th. The rooftop terrace was open with patio furniture available and a great view. Take your morning coffee to the terrace to watch the sun rise over the Halifax harbour. Or your glass of wine in the afternoon to sit and watch the boats in the harbour!
The restaurant had just changed formats the week before (from table service to counter order), and there was some confusion with my husbands' food ....however the Manager came over, apologized, and explained the newness of it all to his team. He made it okay, and we understood completely how in a a new environment mistakes happen. Because he handled it so professionally, and it was not a major issue with us anyhow, we were satisfied.
The rooms are set up in a "feng shui" format, with the beds facing the windows, and a nice small bamboo water feature when you arrive. I wish they had put another outlet on this little counter top, with 2 cell phones, laptop & tablet finding enough plug ins to charge everything took a few minutes. And having wine glasses in the room would have been appreciated, but we were given a pair with no challenges from the bar staff downstairs.
The lobby, computers, comfy couches with plug ins in the arm rests and the big screen TV was well done, and we enjoyed the fact that we could relax in an open environment without much noise from others in the lobby.
Free wifi in the room, easy to set up. Bed was a little hard for us, but pillows were comfy. Room temperature easy to moderate as preferred, and most importantly not noisy at all!

There was no luggage rack in our room, but again because of the renovations it may get one yet. We managed by dragging the coffee table over to the wardrobe. The wardrobe needs a light inside! It is dark!
Front staff are very friendly, newspapers in the lobby are always nice. The hotel gym equipment was brand new...not quite all set up when we wanted to use it, but it will be appreciated for those interested. Not much privacy with anyone in the pool able to sit & watch with the big windows, but the gym is bright that way.
Overall no big complaints with the hotel especially because everyone was so friendly and everything was new. We really enjoyed the weekend, and would consider staying there again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: ask for rooms 6018, 6020, 6021, 6022 or 7018, 7020, 7021 or 7022 to get a fantastic view of the Hali...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Halifax Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Location and staff were amazing at the hotel. Newly renovated area is also very nice.

Only item that I dislike is the tiny gym with only two threadmills. It was always busy and never got a chance. I think a hotel of this size should have a real size training room!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hello Minh N, Thank you for choosing Courtyard Halifax on your recent visit. I was happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and service at the Hotel.

We hope to have you back again in the future

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The courtyard Halifax downtown was amazing. Newly renovated lobby was a great area to learn about Halifax's attractions. The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to suggest restaurants and sites to see. Great location, can't wait to go back! A+++

Room Tip: Room 718 had a great view of the water front. Lots of natural light
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very friendly and obliging staff. Free WiFi. Pool is small but it's fine unless a bunch of people jump in at once. Room was beautiful with a nice balcony in room 311. Everything was clean. Great location. Expensive valet parking but we got a package to include it which is why we tried this hotel. Glad we did!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie_in_Moncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thank you to Sarah, at the Front Desk, and Patrick, our Valet, for the outstanding attention paid to us. I will come here again and highly recommend the Courtyard to our friends. What a fabulous place to stay in Halifax!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrennaBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were only here for 1 night, arriving around 7PM and leaving around 8AM so not a long stay. However, we were happy with our stay. We were nicely greeted and once checked in we were advised that hockey teams were staying in the hotel but that they had signed a 9PM curfew. We were very impressed with this and must say that by 9:30PM, all was quiet. The room was cold when we entered but quickly warmed up as we put the heat on. Nice view of the harbor. The location is perfect for a waterfront stay (business or pleasure). We wish we were told that the lobby restaurant was being renovated when we booked but they did have breakfast in another room across the hall from the restaurant. In all great stay. Parking is valet only.

Room Tip: If you stay towards the front of the hotel, many rooms have a partial view of the water.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This place has a great location. Close to water, some views from the room, easy to walk to anywhere in town. Modern Room was spacious clean, well set up. Lots of window. Bed comfortable. Wifi worked great Staff helpful.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,980 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £113 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing