We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great hotel, located conveniently downtown. Our kids enjoyed the restaurant ( my 7 year old picky eater, loved the chicken wings) The chef personally served the food to our kids!

The room was spacious and clean, with a great shower.

Valet parking was quick and courteous.

I've stayed there several times with my family and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    199
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
132
230
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerside, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great Hotel close to the shops and dining on the waterfront. Staff were excellent and very friendly especially Charlynn! I was there on business so it was nice to be able to walk on the boardwalk during lunch break and in the evening. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room with water view very bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Good easy check in, valet parking, central location. We had a harbour view King room with balcony. It was raining while we stayed so we did not get to enjoy the balcony, however it was nice, had a good view. The room was a good size, 8th floor, very quiet. Noted that it appears that it has had some recent upgrades, looked like new carpet, noting that the bathroom could use updating and the curtains on the balcony were in very bad shape, all picked and not all that clean. Bedding was clean and bed was comfortable, could have used more pillows however I am sure if you requested you could have gotten more. Valet parking was easy to use. Did not use the lobby/dining serviced but it looked like they had a nice lounge set up. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Coast Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel for two nights and were very impressed with this hotel. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean and seemed large, bathroom was large also, mini-fridge in room, central location (short walk to Spring Garden Rd shopping and downtown fine dining). Our room had a harbour view which was very scenic. We valet'ed the car (at approx. $20 a night if not in a package) - no issues with valet - speedy service to have the car brought round.

We had a couple of special requests and the hotel staff went above and beyond to accommodate. We stayed on a family package which included a full hot breakfast at the restaurant in the morning (served Starbucks coffee which was nice!) and the valet parking. They were making some changes to their morning meals in the restaurant, so a little confusion, but nothing major - food was tasty!

Great lobby seating area and entire hotel seemed to have an updated décor with an urban, modern feel. The absolute best thing about our stay though was the hotel roof top patio (access off the 8th floor by key) overlooking the Halifax harbour. Very scenic, restful and just a lovely place to be on a sunny day. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Wow! I stayed here last weekend for my anniversary and it couldn't have been better. The hotel was right in the middle of downtown so we just left the car there and walked for the weekend. Everything was so close by. We ate a few fabulous restaurants, all within a few minutes from the hotel. I definitely recommend heading up to the 8th floor balcony. The view was incredible and you can see the entire harbor and beyond. The staff was amazing! They were always happy to help when I went to the desk and made great dinner recommendations for us. I will definitely be back.

Thanks for a great stay :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Courtyard by Mirrott located in downtown Hailfax on the waterfront. What a beautiful hotel. Great location within walking distance to all downtown attractions. The rooms were very comfortable and the housekeeping staff was beyond accommodating. Our room attendant Charlynn was so sweet and personable. She had us covered with everything we could possibly need for our stay.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you Marilou for the kind words. We will share these comments with our staff and in particular Charlynn. We are lucky to have her on the team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddy Beach
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

recently spent a night at this hotel in Halifax and have no problems recommending it. the rooms are clean and spacious , the beds were great , the bathroom was excellent. this place is close to all the things you want to do in downtown Halifax and I might add if you cant have fun in down town Halifax you have some problems that need addressing. the oly issue we had was that the ice machie on our floor wasn't working but a quick trip to the front desk and we were supplied with all we needed. we booked about a month in advance and were give the option of a reduced rate if we paid up front with a no cancellation policy after 24 hours. we used this option as we were 99% sure we were going to make the trip. great hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackLabFreddyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P, Manager at Courtyard Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback BlackLabFreddyBeach.

We are glad your overall stay was enjoyable but are sorry to hear of your challenges in regards to the ice machines. Please know we are aware and have some parts on order for repair. We are always looking for ways to improve and your feedback will help us to do so.

Again, thank you for reaching out.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,920 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing