We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is a gem. We arrived by cruise ship and were able to walk to the hotel in 10 to 15 minutes from the Cruise Port. The hotel is located on the waterfront, a short walk from downtown. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We arrived well before the posted check in time and when the receptionist saw that the room we reserved was not ready, she immediately upgraded us to a room with a commanding view of Halifax Harbour. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and a very comfortable couch. It also had a nice large screen TV and great Wi-Fi service. The whole hotel was very clean and modern. All of the staff that we dealt with were very friendly and very helpful. In fact, we would say that they were exceptionally good. The receptionist booked our taxi for us when it was time to leave for the airport. This saved us several dollars as compared to booking directly with the taxi company.

We would stay here again. It was great value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side have great views. Although our room overlooked a road, we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 396Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great hotel. The area is great as you can walk to restaurants in the morning as well as the local market on the water front and coffee shops. Staff were great. I'd stay again in a heart beat.

Kevin in the kitchen went above and beyond helping us order food. Thanks Kevin for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We attended this hotel in the last week-end of May 2014 for a hockey tournament. The service was great. There is valet parking, so you drop your luggage at the main entrance and the valet goes and park tour car. Kevin, who works at the restaurant part of the hotel helped us ordering food from outside and made sure the orders were goin to be ready in a short amount of time. One night, Kevin even called a restaurant where we had ordered pizza tk make sure they were giving us a good deal as we are regular customers (we only go once a year!). The hotel is nicely located in the Halifax downtown, a few minutes away from the boardwalk and nearby restaurant and bars. The pool is somewhat small but it did the job for the kids! Overall, i had a great experience and i would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erikdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Very good located, 2 min. walking from water front. Everything in downtown is in walking distance. Starbucks coffee served. Gym is good, two treadmills and one stepper. Cleaning and trying machine available. Valet parking is very fast in bringing your car. WIFI for free.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a well located hotel near many good restaurants, and the boardwalk/water. The hotel is medium size and middle of the road (the "Courtyard" brand after all)). But for what it is, it is well done: Very friendly staff, good sized rooms (+ clean + good shape), adequate food service, adequate fitness room (smallish on equipment), and so on. - Slow elevator service though. And unfortunately NOT the Marriott heavenly bed quality (kind of hard mattresses)


In-door parking, but for a fee ($20 I believe per day).

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor, and a room with water views. The 8th also has an outdoor terrace (for all f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed at the Courtyard for a week in May and the wonderful staff, especially Stephanie and Bee made me feel at home. This was my second stay and the only thing I was disappointed in was that they no longer have the buffet breakfast. However as there is a coffee maker and a mini fridge in the room as well as a supermarket nearby I made my breakfast there. After the first night I had a great view of the harbour. The rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and quiet. There a great deal to see and do within walking distance and many great restaurants nearby. I was helped with reservations for restaurants and tours and also bus route in Dartmount and Halifax.
Thanks for a great vacation in Halifax.

Room Tip: The best views are at the end of the hall over looking the harbour. it is very quiet there also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornerstonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great hotel, located conveniently downtown. Our kids enjoyed the restaurant ( my 7 year old picky eater, loved the chicken wings) The chef personally served the food to our kids!

The room was spacious and clean, with a great shower.

Valet parking was quick and courteous.

I've stayed there several times with my family and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#4 of 28 in Halifax
3,173 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#10 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £89 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing