We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, MD
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for a business meeting in the area. Room was clean, comfortable, quiet and well maintained. Many places to eat nearby and easy walking distance to many attractions in the downtown area. A taxi from the airport is pretty expensive, about $65 CND but a shuttle bus is available for $22 if reservations are made in advance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldfish510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    199
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
131
230
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great affordable hotel well located in downtown Halifax (almost on the waterfront but not quite - but you can cross the street and hit the boardwalk). The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious and the lobby is very welcoming with an open concept check-in area, casual sitting room and bistro. The small library and computer station are a nice touch. The rooms itself are clean and spacious. My only comment is that the pillows are not that great - at least in my room. That being said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Kevin went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable. He went so far as to secure menus from a nearby restaurant and placed our takeout orders for us ( something the resto normally doesn't do by the way). He then allowed us to eat in the hotel lobby, ensuring our hockey team was comfortable and well fed before bed. Thank you Kevin - you made the trip for us!

Room Tip: The king room with pull out couch worked well, even with two adults and three kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is a gem. We arrived by cruise ship and were able to walk to the hotel in 10 to 15 minutes from the Cruise Port. The hotel is located on the waterfront, a short walk from downtown. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We arrived well before the posted check in time and when the receptionist saw that the room we reserved was not ready, she immediately upgraded us to a room with a commanding view of Halifax Harbour. Our room was large with a very comfortable bed and a very comfortable couch. It also had a nice large screen TV and great Wi-Fi service. The whole hotel was very clean and modern. All of the staff that we dealt with were very friendly and very helpful. In fact, we would say that they were exceptionally good. The receptionist booked our taxi for us when it was time to leave for the airport. This saved us several dollars as compared to booking directly with the taxi company.

We would stay here again. It was great value for the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side have great views. Although our room overlooked a road, we didn't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 396Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a great hotel. The area is great as you can walk to restaurants in the morning as well as the local market on the water front and coffee shops. Staff were great. I'd stay again in a heart beat.

Kevin in the kitchen went above and beyond helping us order food. Thanks Kevin for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingFamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We attended this hotel in the last week-end of May 2014 for a hockey tournament. The service was great. There is valet parking, so you drop your luggage at the main entrance and the valet goes and park tour car. Kevin, who works at the restaurant part of the hotel helped us ordering food from outside and made sure the orders were goin to be ready in a short amount of time. One night, Kevin even called a restaurant where we had ordered pizza tk make sure they were giving us a good deal as we are regular customers (we only go once a year!). The hotel is nicely located in the Halifax downtown, a few minutes away from the boardwalk and nearby restaurant and bars. The pool is somewhat small but it did the job for the kids! Overall, i had a great experience and i would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erikdubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Very good located, 2 min. walking from water front. Everything in downtown is in walking distance. Starbucks coffee served. Gym is good, two treadmills and one stepper. Cleaning and trying machine available. Valet parking is very fast in bringing your car. WIFI for free.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,915 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Halifax Downtown

Property: Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Address: 5120 Salter St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 0A1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Halifax
#4 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#9 Business Hotel in Halifax
#11 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Halifax Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether your visit to Halifax is all business or just for fun, your stay at the Courtyard Halifax Downtown hotel puts you in the midst of all that Halifax has to offer. Located at The Brewery Square the hotel offers a view of the gorgeous Halifax harbour. The hotel is located within minutes of business, meeting and conference facilities and is within steps of popular Halifax attractions, shopping, restaurants, museums, theatre and more.As Halifax bustles along outside, through our hotel doors you are welcomed with first-class hotel services and amenities. Our spacious guest rooms feature complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. Our fireside lounge, incredible restaurants, 24-hour fitness centre and indoor heated pool add to your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Hotel Halifax
Halifax Courtyard
Courtyard Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing