We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The staff were super friendly and went the extra step to help my family's visit be stress free and relaxing. The suites were brand new and very comfortable. The complimentary breakfasts and suppers were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel! In particular, thank you for recognizing our "super friendly" staff, which we believe is what sets a hotel apart!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    177
    36
    9
    16
See reviews for
243
257
28
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Beautiful new Hotel... Walking distance to Downtown with beautiful view if you get the harbour side.. Restaurants all close by... Pets and Parking is extra that is the only downside otherwise a great stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Reta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your excellent review! I will share your comments with our team. We hope to see you back at our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Comparing this property with other Homewood suites i have been to it is a 4 or 5 star hotel. compare it with every hotel i have been to and it is a 3 star. can't beat the fact that it is brand new, everything is pristine and working perfectly. the staff are very helpful, but have not got the hang of the computers and room types, but everything worked well after we got our second room with a decent view. Homewood sites is notorious for bad food, this rates higher than most but still had frozen food sometimes that was not good. The tray of identically shaped "cheese omelets" were clearly pre-manufactured boxed frozen items as an example. I don't like the $20 a night charge to park but that is in line with most all downtown locations. The maid didn't leave fresh towels on one day and never seemed to notice the coffee was used and replace the keurig cups.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhohma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I wanted to ensure you that we've reviewed your comments with our team, specifically we have addressed:
1) Our housekeeping team - we have reiterated the need to ensure that all rooms are fully stocked with replacement towels and coffee.
2) Our Food & Beverage team - we are working on our breakfast offerings on an ongoing basis, ensuring that we are meeting and exceeding brand standards while adding a touch of individuality. Thank you for noticing that ours is above the standard of most Homewood Suites, we will continue to modify our breakfast based upon feedback like yours.
3) Our Front Desk team - As is the case with any new hotel opening, there is a considerable learning curve, especially for our Front Desk associates in becoming fully versed on our computer systems and various room types and locations. This training is ongoing, and of course every day their experience and confidence grows. I'm sure you'll see this on your next visit.

Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in June /14 it is an excellent hotel ,very friendly staff and knowledgeable about the area, Food was excellent the room was beautiful, I will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thanks for the great review! I'll be sure and share it with our team. It's great to hear our associates were friendly and helpful. We strive to ensure we're providing the very best in guest service.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobcaygeon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A wonderful Hotel to stay; cleaniness to perfection and Staff excellent to deal with. Could not do enough to make our stay an experience and memorable one. Location excellent for the Downtown activities and we liked very much the 'personal parking' feature rather than valet. Cannot thank the Staff enough for making our stay very special

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our hotel. Your comments will be shared wtih our entire team. We pride opurselves on personalized customer service, it's nice to see that you have recognized these efforts!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alabama
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family returned to our hometown for a quick, unannounced visit. We chose to stay at here due to redemption of points... It is a new hotel and lovely inside. We checked in and found our accommodations to be clean fresh and welcoming. We had requested extra towels and found they were awaiting us. There is a complimentary breakfast. We found this to lack choices and not very appealing.Also a light dinner is available, it was ok, not great. Menus for the dinners are posted in your room, at the very least you can get a salad and roll. Perhaps we are spoiled by the vast buffets and cook to order found at other Hilton properties. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only other downside is that there is a 19.95 daily charge to park, even for diamond members. Thought this was a little pricey and when I asked about it, I was told parking is at a premium in Halifax. Not argument there, however would think that fee would be waived for diamond and higher reward members again as found at other Hilton properties. Would recommend, close to downtown and if you like to make your own quick meals/snacks the fully stocked kitchen in the room is wonderful...good for folks traveling that like extra space and or have kids that can sleep on pull out and still have a room for mom and dad...

Room Tip: ask for harbour view, its pretty in the morning when sun is rising.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3ofusAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for your review and comments following your stay at our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the decor and that your room was well prepared for your arrival. Our breakfast has been well received, however I will review your comments with our Food & Beverage team. Our dinner offering always includes a salad & roll option, however it is located in a different area from the hot food. We need to ensure that our service staff is clearly detailing guest options during the meal period. Our parking fee is competitive with all other downtown properties. We recognize our Diamond members by providing preferred parking near the entrance to the hotel.
We appreciate your comments and will review them with all of our associates. Thank you for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our family booked this hotel for the weekend of our daughter's wedding. Booking was so easy with Angela and she made every effort to ensure we were booked into the most appropriate suite to accomdodate our family, the bride and her attendants. Lovely touches like a bridal gift basket, bottled water in the fridge and a fruit tray on the day of the wedding overwhelmed us all. From the photographer, hair and make up professionals, bridesmaids, and friends and family- we were all amazed by the level of attention and kindness we received while being guests in this hotel. The hotel itself is lovely with modern decor, beautifully appointed rooms and extremely comforatble beds. There are large windows that offer great views of Citatdel Hill or the Halifax Harbour. Additionally, they serve a complimentary daily breakfast buffet which was varied, fresh and highly enjoyable. We also had the pleasure of a complimentary dinner on Thursday evening as this is provided to all guests who are staying in the hotel from Monday to Thursday. Overall I would like to thank the hotel staff, supervisors and managers who made this wedding weekend so very special. Without reservation I would say this is the finest customer service we have received at any hotel in this country or any others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 896janicee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
First of all, congratulations on your daughter's wedding! And thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. We're very proud of our new product and it's so nice to hear that you appreciated the room, the view , the beds, and our food & beverage offerings. Most gratifying are your comments regarding the care and attention of our associates. Angela and the rest of our team are truly special, and deserve this recognition. I'll be sure to pass your kind remarks on to our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Address: 1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites by Hilton is a welcoming, extended stay option in downtown Halifax. Spacious studio, 1- and 2-bedroom suites offer complimentary WiFi, full kitchens and separate living and sleeping space. Guests enjoy complimentary breakfast daily, indoor pool and fitness center. The attached Silverbirch Conference Center also offers flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing