We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When we stayed here, this hotel had only been opened for a month, however, it all ran like clock work! It is very clean and the front desk staff were extremely friendly. The room was an oasis of comfort. The bathroom is large with a walk in shower. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and there was a very large flat screen TV. The room was extremely quiet. I never heard any noise from the hall or other rooms. However, there is a large construction project going on outside of the hotel and we were woken to jackhammers each morning. We had a harbour view room, but honestly, it didn't make much of an impression on either of us. The breakfast in the morning was included in the room rate. The first morning we went to breakfast little earlier and there were lots of hot and cold choices including many types of bakery delights, cereals, eggs, bacon, and a make your own waffles station (which I highly recommend). The second morning, we arrived a bit later, and unfortunately the wide variety of choice was severely limited. The kitchen could do a better job of replenishing the food on the buffet. This was disappointing as there wasn't even bread for toast. The hotel has a pool and workout room in the basement. We wished there would have been a hot tub as the pool was a little cold. However, this brand new hotel is located close to several attractions in Halifax. It is about a 2 block walk (downhill) to the Harbour, it is close to the Casino, and close to the Citadel. We had stayed earlier at the Four Points. To compare, the Four Points had better access to the harbour but given the choice, I'd stay at the Hampton Inn because it is modern, cleaner, and includes breakfast. Please note that it costs $20 per night for parking and there is an AAA/CAA discount when you book a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. These reviews are always helpful, not only to other travellers but to us as well so that we may follow up on all of your feedback :) We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return!

See you on your next visit!

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice hotel. Good service. I was charged for 3 nights when I only stayed for 2. I did have to make 2 phone calls to straighten it out and left a message with the Manager to call me back. Its been 4 days and they have not returned my call. I would think a discount on my next stay would be nice, as it was a bit of a hastle.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tobi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful rating you provided us on trip advisor despite your billing challenges. We apologize profusely for the error in your billing as we recognized immediately upon receiving your call and subsequent investigation, that an error had been made. As a result of your phone call we were able to proactively search for other similar mistakes and were able to correct another posting error for another guest before they even had to call...thank you!

We did have some challenges with our computer system on this day and as a result we manually had to post room and tax for the entire day, which is what led to the error on your bill. Again we thank you for your patience and understanding and would be more than happy to make this up to you on your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly to make arrangements and reservations for your next stay when you require them. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Have a wonderful day,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is no way to find fault,everything you have come to expect from a maritime experience is found here.Clean,friendly,helpful,knowledgeable,engaging staff makes this place a jewel in the Hampton crown.A buffet breakfast is hard to get excited about,get excited cause this on is off the hook,and so was staff.Also the pool was very refreshing after a long journey,if you like refreshing. As per normal an exceptional bed,clean,neat and so comfortable,bathrooms and floors were spotless.Well done to all the staff who work so hard behind the scenes to make things so perfect for others,thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Your review is spectacular and describes the experience we endeavor to deliver to each of guests! You have noticed all of the added touches we've made being the 100th Hilton Hotel to open in Canada and captured the spirit of our entire team magnificently! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wow what a beautiful hotel. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to find this place so close to our conference and such a reasonable price compared to the other options. Front desk staff was super helpful, friendly and outgoing. Our room is super comfortable and I am looking forward to a week of comfort and being able to walk back and forth so we can enjoy some of what halifax has to offer in restaurants and pubs!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are so glad to hear that we are the ideal Hotel for you! Thank you so much for your wonderful review which is sure to inspire future travellers to stay with us. We look forward to your return and hope that you were able to explore and enjoy our beautiful city in your downtime.

Take care,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had the best weekend ever ! This is a brand new hotel with a nice and helpful staff (for example Denise and Veronica) did all to get out stay better ! we absolutly will get back there, the location, the rooms, oh and the really good breakfast ! We returned home more relax and happier !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

What a wonderful review! All the best to you as well! Reviews such as these remind me why we ALL love to be in the hospitality business and can't wait to get to work each day! Our guests make our jobs so rewarding and I wouldn't change a thing! Remember to come back and visit us whenever you need a break!

Stay well,

Stacie Bowdridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed two days at hotel after flying in and going to the Tattoo.
Location next to the Citadel and within easy walking distance of downtown and harbor front.
Facilities are brand new. No problems with anything. Nice breakfast and eating area included. Nicer than most Hampton facilities, but still maybe a bit over priced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us at our downtown location and for providing all of your wonderful comments relating to our hotel to the TripAdvisor audience! We are thrilled to be the only downtown Hilton Hotels in Halifax and love reading about how our hotel adds value to your stay by being conveniently located in the heart of downtown Halifax. We hope you have the opportunity to return to our Hotel in the near future!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel is indeed brand new and very nice. The computer system is very slow, room keys slow to initialize,creditcard issues checking out for many guests. Really spoiled the experience.Very clean hotel. The breakfast is served on real plates and glassware as opposed to other Hampton Inns I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for providing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We thank you for all of the very positive comments regarding the Hotel and specifically your notes regarding our efforts towards our environmental and sustainable goals by using all china, glass and silverware in our breakfast room! I am so sorry to hear that you encountered issues surrounding the speed of your check in and check out. As this is the very first concern reported to me relating to the speed of our computer systems, I want to assure you that I will personally investigate the issue so as to ensure that we do not encounter this again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to report this, otherwise I would not have an opportunity to fix it for all guests :) We look forward to your return in the future.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown

Address: 1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £77 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hampton Inn Halifax offers a great location within walking distance of all the downtown excitement. Spacious guest rooms offer free WiFi and more modern amenities for a comfortable stay. Stay on a higher floor for great views of Citadel Hill or Halifax Harbour. Free hot breakfast is available each morning. Silverbirch Conference Center is connected to offer flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing