We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New (June2014) Makes the Better Hampton Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brand New (June2014) Makes the Better Hampton Stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our recent stay at the Hampton in Halifax was a good experience. The high-rise is located within an easy walk of great dining (on Argyle Street), the wharf, the Citadel, Public Gardens and many other attractions. The hotel staff are very well trained and made an effort to meet our every need. Our room was not large, but was accommodating enough. Many of these type hotels have no space to set a second suitcase, so one person is always digging in a case that is on the floor or hoisting it up on the bed. The breakfast service at this Hampton is still getting the kinks worked out. I think the hotel is/was so brand new, they have yet to be sure how to work the rush time and then ebb and flow of guests as they come in for breakfast. Coffee urns were completely empty more than once, which seems a little like poor planning given the fact that they could have prepared another ahead of time and then would have been ready to change out an empty pot instantly. Nonetheless, the staff who work in the kitchen area were so kind and did everything to respond quickly to any guests need. The best part of this Hampton breakfast area was the fact that there are real dishes, real coffee and tea cups and real flatware. It could be because they are new, or because they are actually connected to another Hilton property that has a higher price point, not sure. Suffice is to say I love having something other than plastic or cardboard dining ware and utensils. I give this one high marks and would recommend a stay at the Hampton if you plan to be in Halifax. Be advised parking is additional and is $20./per day. It bears repeating that this hotel is brand new so linens are fresh, fixtures are new and it still smells new...a really excellent benefit.

Room Tip: Higher floors are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebBillingsMorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful testament to our hotel! We have provided many services and upgrades like the china in our breakfast rooms to enhance your experience and also as a means of meeting our sustainability objectives....thank you for noticing! I would like to apologize for the breakfast experience during your stay, and appreciate that you recognize that as much planning as we do, sometimes we just aren't sure what time within the 4 hour range is going to be busiest. I can assure you however, that we have met to discuss this as our primary opportunity and should the "flow" hit all at once again, we will be ready! Thank you so much for taking the time to articulate your experience and recommendations! We can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    298
    86
    25
    25
See reviews for
271
333
29
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south eastern ontario
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

New hotel with clean comfortable rooms. Everything in the free hot breakfast comes in frozen and is rethermalized. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I would stay at a Hampton Inn again. Free wifi a definite plus.Like most other hotels,Hampton Inn has HD TVs and they actually have HD channels.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gud2btru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments on trip advisor! We hope to see you back in Halifax soon.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

One of the newest and greatest hotels in Halifax. Accessability was good with a full roll in shower for wheelchair in room 925 only. Needs an accessable automatic door for room. Complimentary hot breakfast was amazing. Love the waffel irons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on tripadvisor! I appreciate your comments highlighting the hotel's accessibility features. Thank you for your suggestion on our guest room doors, we will absolutely discuss this as a viable option in the future. I'm not sure if you were able to take advantage of the pool during this visit however, I did want to mention that I believe we are the only hotel in Nova Scotia with a accessible pool transfer unit. Canada Select mentioned that we may be the only ones' so far :)

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

When we stayed here, this hotel had only been opened for a month, however, it all ran like clock work! It is very clean and the front desk staff were extremely friendly. The room was an oasis of comfort. The bathroom is large with a walk in shower. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and there was a very large flat screen TV. The room was extremely quiet. I never heard any noise from the hall or other rooms. However, there is a large construction project going on outside of the hotel and we were woken to jackhammers each morning. We had a harbour view room, but honestly, it didn't make much of an impression on either of us. The breakfast in the morning was included in the room rate. The first morning we went to breakfast little earlier and there were lots of hot and cold choices including many types of bakery delights, cereals, eggs, bacon, and a make your own waffles station (which I highly recommend). The second morning, we arrived a bit later, and unfortunately the wide variety of choice was severely limited. The kitchen could do a better job of replenishing the food on the buffet. This was disappointing as there wasn't even bread for toast. The hotel has a pool and workout room in the basement. We wished there would have been a hot tub as the pool was a little cold. However, this brand new hotel is located close to several attractions in Halifax. It is about a 2 block walk (downhill) to the Harbour, it is close to the Casino, and close to the Citadel. We had stayed earlier at the Four Points. To compare, the Four Points had better access to the harbour but given the choice, I'd stay at the Hampton Inn because it is modern, cleaner, and includes breakfast. Please note that it costs $20 per night for parking and there is an AAA/CAA discount when you book a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. These reviews are always helpful, not only to other travellers but to us as well so that we may follow up on all of your feedback :) We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return!

See you on your next visit!

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Nice hotel. Good service. I was charged for 3 nights when I only stayed for 2. I did have to make 2 phone calls to straighten it out and left a message with the Manager to call me back. Its been 4 days and they have not returned my call. I would think a discount on my next stay would be nice, as it was a bit of a hastle.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tobi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful rating you provided us on trip advisor despite your billing challenges. We apologize profusely for the error in your billing as we recognized immediately upon receiving your call and subsequent investigation, that an error had been made. As a result of your phone call we were able to proactively search for other similar mistakes and were able to correct another posting error for another guest before they even had to call...thank you!

We did have some challenges with our computer system on this day and as a result we manually had to post room and tax for the entire day, which is what led to the error on your bill. Again we thank you for your patience and understanding and would be more than happy to make this up to you on your next visit. Please feel free to contact me directly to make arrangements and reservations for your next stay when you require them. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Have a wonderful day,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

There is no way to find fault,everything you have come to expect from a maritime experience is found here.Clean,friendly,helpful,knowledgeable,engaging staff makes this place a jewel in the Hampton crown.A buffet breakfast is hard to get excited about,get excited cause this on is off the hook,and so was staff.Also the pool was very refreshing after a long journey,if you like refreshing. As per normal an exceptional bed,clean,neat and so comfortable,bathrooms and floors were spotless.Well done to all the staff who work so hard behind the scenes to make things so perfect for others,thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Your review is spectacular and describes the experience we endeavor to deliver to each of guests! You have noticed all of the added touches we've made being the 100th Hilton Hotel to open in Canada and captured the spirit of our entire team magnificently! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Wow what a beautiful hotel. We couldn't believe how lucky we were to find this place so close to our conference and such a reasonable price compared to the other options. Front desk staff was super helpful, friendly and outgoing. Our room is super comfortable and I am looking forward to a week of comfort and being able to walk back and forth so we can enjoy some of what halifax has to offer in restaurants and pubs!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so glad to hear that we are the ideal Hotel for you! Thank you so much for your wonderful review which is sure to inspire future travellers to stay with us. We look forward to your return and hope that you were able to explore and enjoy our beautiful city in your downtime.

Take care,

Stacie Bowdridge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,913 reviews
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Four Points by Sheraton Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Address: 1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hampton Inn Halifax offers a great location within walking distance of all the downtown excitement. Spacious guest rooms offer free WiFi and more modern amenities for a comfortable stay. Stay on a higher floor for great views of Citadel Hill or Halifax Harbour. Free hot breakfast is available each morning. Silverbirch Conference Center is connected to offer flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing