We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Butler, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Location and Very Clean”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights with family - hotel is new, breakfast was very good (waffles, eggs, fruit, sausages). Room was average size (very clean) beds very comfortable, and maid service was very good. Front desk was helpful with directions. The Citadel is only 1 block away and the waterfront a few blocks down a very steep hill. $20 per day for parking but you do not need a car to walk the city. One down side, no restaurant, but the city has lots of places to eat. Visited Peggy Cove - about 40 minute drive, Public Gardens - 15 minute walk, Citadel and boardwalk 5 minute walk (hills). Did not use the pool but looked small. If I ever visit Halifax again would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, what a great testimonial! Guests always appreciate first hand information and recommendations from our guests! We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    271
    78
    23
    24
See reviews for
249
304
25
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel is only two months old, so everything is clean and new. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were comfortable, and we enjoyed the hot breakfast buffet.

The only downsides: the pool was rather small, and it was sometimes hard to get a seat at breakfast.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fool_me_once
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience. See you next time!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed overnight with family to enjoy some of the Halifax attractions and nightlife.

The hotel is pretty well situated a few blocks back from the docks up the hill. The rooms were great and we were given an upgrade to one with a view over the harbour which was very welcome.

The breakfast buffet was a little haphazard in that food wasn't being replenished fast enough but we figured this was due to the hotel being new and processes were bedding in. The breakfast was pretty good once we'd all got it and it set our day off to a good start.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms offer a good view of the harbour and historic citadel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your comments relating to the breakfast experience. We will review our processes and procedures internally to ensure everyone has a great breakfast experience.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is a new hotel and the location is very central. If you turn right when come out from the hotel you will get to the Citetal (the highest point of Halifax), also going to downtown. If you turn left you go toward the water and the Casino (careful, we had to cross some Hwy and go down some hill). You have to pay for parking at the hotel. You really don't need a car to roam around downtown, it is very small. Halifax is very hilly city but very beautiful with being next to the water. It is a good starting place to go to Peggy's Cove, or Cabot trail.

The hotel is about 20 min from the airport. We took booked a airport limo/Taxi online cost $60 not so bad.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor to get a better view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lclcusoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor! We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Arriving on the long weekend in August, we were unable to secure a room with a view, but the corner suite was gloriously spacious and spotless. You can still smell the fresh paint and broadloom! I love the way the Hampton Inns have ascribed a photo to each room - ours was a snow globe. That way, your room is easier to spot in a long hallway than a three-digit numeral. What a great personal touch! The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. My son found the pool to be on the small and cold side and didn't linger. The breakfast scene was an absolute zoo on a full weekend - main items like bread or eggs completely ran out, and waiting for a piece of bread to appear is a bit of a nuisance, but, hey, it is complimentary. The proximity to downtown is great, albeit a bit of a steep climb from the harbour for a couple of blocks. I welcomed the exercise, but some may find that a challenge. Parking is an extra $20 per night and needs to be factored into the cost. The room itself is the star: comfy beds and clean linens are what really count.

Room Tip: Try to snag one with a view or, at the very least, a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomCanDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! See you next time. Thank you for your comments related to the pool and breakfast - I will be sure to have our Maitenance Manager and F&B Manager check on these two opportunites.


Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

this is a very nice location in Halifax. Nice views of the city. Located very close to some nice restaurants and pubs. The hotel is very new and the rooms are typical standard for the Hilton chain. Would definitely come back either for business or for vacation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitchenerCouple1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank for your the very positive feedback and taking the time to post your review. We look forward to your return on your next visit to Halifax!

Sincerely,

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was recommended by a friend and I can't say enough about this place.clean,quiet and very helpful staff.located close to everything in the dwntwn/harbour area.pool is on the small side but nice. Tip: get to the free breakfast early!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacie B, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you so much! Please be sure to thank your friend who recommended us :) We look forward to your return.

Stacie Bowdridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Address: 1960 Brunswick St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hampton Inn Halifax offers a great location within walking distance of all the downtown excitement. Spacious guest rooms offer free WiFi and more modern amenities for a comfortable stay. Stay on a higher floor for great views of Citadel Hill or Halifax Harbour. Free hot breakfast is available each morning. Silverbirch Conference Center is connected to offer flexible meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Halifax Downtown Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing