We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down best place to stay in Halifax!”

Marigold Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marigold Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Halifax B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hands down best place to stay in Halifax!”
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We stayed here for 6 days during a trip to Halifax and it was the best experience! Innkeeper Joan is a charming, wonderful hostess, a local artist and a terrific cook. If you are there during the spring, summer, or early fall, the garden is beautiful. This is Joan's family home and it is cozy and comfortable, featuring hand made quilts, blankets, and floormats. Joan is a terrific story teller and knows a great deal about both Halifax and the world beyond. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Enchanting and relaxing!

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    11
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We loved this B&B! We stayed here at the beginning and end of our tour around Nova Scotia - as we travelled off to Cape Breton and PEI.

In comparison to the expensive, ubiquitous, and generic hotels available downtown, this was such a lovely place to stay! We were slightly on a budget - and so at $75 a night between us this was perfect. It's so homely, and comfortable. Joan, the host is really lovely, easy-going and friendly; helping us out with our travel plans, how to get around the city, ordering our airport taxi cab for us, letting us use the phone, and preparing our amazing breakfasts.

It is either a short walk downtown, or the bus goes just from the end of the street all the time. Staying in suburbs like these is a lot more attractive and interesting than downtown, and we felt we got to know life in Halifax a lot better as a result. It is also well placed to hire a car and travel off to other parts of Nova Scotia - Lunenburg and Mahone Bay were lovely!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Power_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

We found the marigold on trip advisor and fell in love with this delightful b&b and have stayed here twice. If you're going to Halifax it is much much more worth your while not staying in an expensive chain hotel downtown and rather stay somewhere like the marigold which is easy ten min walking distance to downtown and yet you stay in a picturesque nova scotian suburb with the multicoloured clapboard houses. The host Joan goes out of her way to help you with any of your needs, for instance she kindly did washing for me and has no fixed time for the fabulous breakfast, just let her know roughly what time you get up. I really recommend a stay here

  • Liked — lovely hostess joan and beautiful quiet suburb
  • Disliked — just jealous that I don't live there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uratargetmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2007

I have twice stayed at the Marigold B&B in Halifax, and thoroughly enjoyed both stays. The B&B is on a peaceful street on the peninsula, within walking distance of all city sights and attractions.

Joan, the hostess, is extremely kind and considerate, and goes to great lengths to ensure the comfort of her guests. A native Haligonian, she always has excellent suggestions for restaurants, shops, local sightseeing, and daytrips.

For me, the Marigold was a real home away from home. I look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amfcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,858 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Halliburton
#8 of 28 in Halifax
666 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Courtyard Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigold Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigold Bed & Breakfast

Property: Marigold Bed & Breakfast
Address: 6318 Norwood St, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 2L1, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Marigold Bed & Breakfast Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing