We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
Atlantica Hotel Halifax(Halifax)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chebucto Inn(Halifax)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commons Inn(Halifax)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveller rating
668
528
136
49
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
528
136
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of the lakegames roomlakeside grillhotel dogsmall lakehalifax shopping centrepool and hot tubpeggy's covefree parkingshort driveclose to downtownfree breakfasthot breakfastfront desk staffexcellent staynova scotiahotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,193 - 1,198 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very friendly helpful staff. No complaints at all. Rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. Hotel has a beautiful picturesque lake behind it. We ate breakfast on the deck overlooking the lake. It was wonderful, very relaxing, We only stayed 2 nights. Would like to have stayed longer! The location is close enough to downtown attractions, I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravenmona52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Very nice and helpful staff, great location on chocolate lake, had lake view room - wonderful, only a short drive to downtown Halifax, easy to find when coming from the airport. Quiet location. Extra attraction for kids: the lovely hotel dog Cocoa! Restaurant is very good, too. Staff and food.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T4Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Located on Lake Chocolate. This is a reasonable place to say while in the Halifax area. It's located a little farther than most hotels in the area. There is a convience store right next door that stays open until aroun 1AM. Rooms were okay but the place is starting to run down a little bit. I had stayed here a couple of years ago. Beds were uncomfortable. We just stayed for 2 nights then decided to leave early. Pool and spa were ok but the basement could use some improvements. Breakfast was great 1 morning then poor the next. Overall a good place to stay for a couple of days if touring the area. We stayed here just to sleep while visiting museums in the area along with Peggy's Cove. There is a beach right by the hotel where you can swim back and forth accross the lake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WItraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Excellent reception staff. We were upgraded to a suite for no charge. Suite okay but for some reason the bedroom door had been removed. Awkward design of suite but contained everything you need. Breakfast was not sampled since line was very long and room too busy. Swimming pool and hot tub were great. Beautiful location on Chocolate Lake.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PPLMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My wife and I needed a bit of a break and we booked 2 nights at the hotel.We had never stayed there before and we were very pleased with our too brief stay. The place was super clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.Situated right next to a picturesque lake but quite close to the downtown attractions made this hotel a real standout. After a few hectic hours in the city, we relaxed outside on the grass overlooking Chocolate Lake itself. It had the best of both worlds: close to the city but a quietly peaceful location. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews