We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally arrived in Nashville !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Finally arrived in Nashville !”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Best Western Music Inn staff were awesomw-- made us feel very welcome to a city we had never been to before. The staff had many good tips to share about what to see & navigating the city, which were much appreciated ! We loved the locatio of the hotel-- just enough liveliness of location to let us have fun & feel at home !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    450
    114
    37
    25
See reviews for
407
430
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pemberton, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

First of all, there was sufficient parking space for us to park our car, whether being outside of the foyer or just down the slope. The rooms were spacious, and the bed are very comfortable nonetheless. In addition, Internet was efficient, as well as air conditioning, with a lovely view of the lake, and the rooms were quite clean. Breakfast was enjoyable every morning, as it was nice to have hot food to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is the 4th time I have eaten here. Food is consistently excellent. This time we ate on the patio with lake view, lush shrubs, tree, flowers. You won't regret a stop here. We are from Hfx. so didn't stay overnight. Heard rooms and service great from people who have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel, and were thoroughly pleased with all aspects of our stay. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, our room was spacious, comfortable, nicely furnished, and the view of the lake and surrounding area was outstanding! Our room was very quiet, and the wireless connection was fast and trouble-free.

We ate breakfast (included with the room rate) twice in the hotel dining room; it was very nicely prepared, items were fresh, and there was very good variety in the items offered. The breakfast was definitely "value added" to the cost of the room. Guests have the choice to eat in the dining room or outside on a covered terrace, with a nice view of the lake. We also decided to eat one evening meal in the hotel dining room, since it was a rainy night and we didn't want to venture back outside. That meal was a very pleasant surprise - the food was very well prepared, our waiter was friendly and efficient, and the cost of the meal was definitely below what we had been paying for comparable meals during a 3-week trip to Nova Scotia. If we were back in Halifax, we'd likely choose to eat in the dining room again as a matter of preference over other restaurants in town.

The hotel is conveniently located away from the traffic of downtown, but it only took us about 10 minutes to get into the center of the city. The free parking was convenient and another plus. We'll certainly stay here again on any future visits to Halifax.

Room Tip: A room on the "lake" side of the main "tower" part of the hotel is definitely th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I knew this hotel was named after Chocolate Lake but I underestimated just how close it was.. literally right on the lake - so beautiful!!
Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and excellent food in the restaurant.
If you're looking for a quiet place not too far from downtown, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank branmuffin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were here for our 45 wedding anniversary trip. We took a VIA Rail trip from Vancouver BC to Halifax. We were welcomed with open arms and all that we asked for was arranged. They had a chocolate Labrador retriever that lives at the front desk and is available for guest to take for walks. We were only there for four days but this hotel became a home away from home.

We are planning an extended trip to Halifax and will use this Best Western as our base. Rooms were clean, food was standard restaurant fare but well served and priced. We entertained family for a desert evening and were well pleased. They arranged cars, airport information, site seeing locations and in general were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowboatbuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our second hotel on our trip, they were fantastic in getting us a room last minute. Staff was great and friendly and the rooms were clean, with all the main necessities. However, I previously called beforehand to see if they had laundry services and they said yes. When I got there they said they had been out of laundry soap for a day, and they didn't bother telling me that on the phone. Everything else was good though

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing