We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
vancouver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Best Western during the initial stage of our Maritime visit. We appreciated the proximity to Halifax ( about 10 minutes) by car. I really enjoyed the pool and the fitness rooms. These areas were very new, and clean, with great shower and change areas. My only suggestion is for the hotel to install shower shampoo and conditioner holders so that one doesn't need to bring the bottles from the room. Breakfast was adequate and we ate in an area normally used as a restaurant during the day. The view of the lake from the breakfast area windows was lovely, and had the weather been warmer, we would have enjoyed sitting at the outdoor tables overlooking the lake. Priced reasonably, we would definitely stay here again if ever in Halifax.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Good day atigrevlis and thank you for sharing your comments. Come back when the weather is warmer and you can enjoy your complimentary hot breakfast on our deck overlooking the lake. It is everything you imagined and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    457
    115
    37
    26
See reviews for
415
437
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed 6 nights here during October. I found the service good, food good and accommodation very good.. The cost was very reasonable. Only disadvantage for me was that it was a bit far out of the city. Taxi service and bus service very efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thanks for sharing. The beautiful lakeside setting we have is indeed convenient to downtown, via public transit (which stops directly in front of the hotel) and by taxi which is always reliable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherwood park, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

beautiful location on the lake. close to the harbor yet nestled in a nice quiet neighborhood. staff is very friendly and helpful..a little hard getting out onto the road in morning rush hour but great access to highways and major connectors if you are touring the province

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Barry J for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, great staff, great amenities, great facilities. Perfect location. Rooms are a good size and very clean. A bit of wear here and there. However the overall cleanliness of the property forgives it. A guaranteed quality stay in this beautiful town. A great location within walking distances of a lively area and you can easily take the bus at the door that brings you everywhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank thehotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share and we are glad to hear you enjoy your times with us. We certainly enjoy having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed at this property a couple times now, and it is truly a wonderful hotel. We love the location, the friendly staff, and the Bath & Body Works amenities. The beds are comfortable and the hotel looks brand new inside and out. Very well maintained. We are so grateful that upon check-in after a late night flight, we were greeted with an upgraded room to a suite. We will be back soon for another long weekend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello KLM101 and thank you sharing. It means the world to us that you consider us home:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

we spent one nigbt at the hotel, after visiting friends in the city, this is an exclellent hotel in halifax, centrally located in the city centre, nice rooms and great sleep. the breakfast bar the next day was second to none, great room, and great food selection for the family

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Bob J and thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Best Western Chocolate Lake hotel is a very nice, central place to stay on a visit
to Halifax. The views of the lake are beautiful, the chocolate lab is friendly, and the
staff is friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, the beds divine, and the bedding
very nice.

Prices are reasonable and they have a buffet breakfast included.

A bonus is the terrific fun of negotiating the "rotary" or "roundabout" traffic circle just down
the street. Always a challenge. Great stepping off location for Halifax, and South Shore
excursions. The fall colors were incredible and the weather was sublime.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Earl C and thank you for the chuckle. Our roundabout is certainly entertaining for some and downright frightening to others. Luckily you can choose an alternate route to and from our hotel if you aren't up for the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Comfort Inn Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing