We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Chocolate Lake Best Western is in an ideal location, overlooking the lake. The bar has an outdoor area near the water, and the restaurant selection and prices are reasonable. The food is excellent. We asked for a possible upgrade on arrival, and this was provided with little extra cost. Rooms were clean and spacious.The facilities were superb - there is a guest laundry downstairs, and the staff were very friendly. Gave us maps, info re eateries, sights, nearest banks etc.
We all loved the chocolate lab mascot.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyAussie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Hi LindyAussie_10,

Thank you for such a positive review! I am glad we were able to make your stay so great. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked with the intent to bring our pet, but changed my
mind before the trip. Upon arrival we were put on the pet
wing, which I figured would be okay. The room of course
was beautiful and roomy, but was located in the motel
portion of the hotel, right by the outside doors. Needless
to say we spent the night listening to the steady bang
of the doors, with very little sleep. I mentioned this to
the desk in the morning and they put us in the hotel
section for our second night. The attendant even moved
our things for us and put our refreshments in the
refridgerator. I was a bit disappointed by the breakfast,
I hope it was only this weekend in particular, but there
was much less available for choosing, no potatoes,
which are my favorite!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi Cindy N,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you found the exterior doors noisy where you were located and I'm glad we were able to accomodate you elsewhere the next night. If you stay with us again and do not bring a pet we would be happy to book you into a different section. If you do bring your furry best friend you can request a room at the end of the hall away from the exterior doors.

We hope you will come back to see us (and Cocoa!) again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great hotel. Great Value. I accidentally booked a day later than I wanted and I had no problem not only getting a room for the same price but had no difficulty with and early check in. Breakfast was good. Yummy apple strudel. Also had the beer battered fish for supper via room service and was very happy with that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Hi MelissaS1969,

I'm glad we were able to accomodate you on a different date and pleased you enjoyed our restaurant. Thanks for the great comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed here. The staff is great, the rooms are clean, the food is good and the view is fantastic. If you plan your day to miss the morning rush hour you have no problem getting around Halifax.
We think that one of the best parts of the hotel is "Cocoa", the hotel's chocolate Lab. She owns the place!
We will continue to use this hotel for all our trips to Halifax.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Canucks_47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Canucks_47,

I am happy to hear you once again enjoyed your stay. We hope you will come back and see us (and Cocoa!) again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

It was our anniversary and we were going to see Reba in concert!!!!
We decided to use this hotel because they didn't charge for parking and had a free breakfast.Also, got a good price for a room and free wifi!!!!
It was also a short drive from the metro centre.
The rooms are clean and a good size.
The breakfast was ok, I would have like to see bacon instead of ham slices and miss the
hash browns they used to have?!?!?!?
We will use this hotel, again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Queen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello 5Queen5 and Happy Anniversary. Reba was awesome! Thanks for sharing and we look forward to having you celebrate your next anniversary with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights here, its pretty much a standard chain hotel.
The room was clean.
We stayed in to eat in the eveing due to not wanting to drive the food okay with slow service.
Breakfast gets a bit busy and you had to wait for seating.
The only negative was the walls are a bit thin

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy201071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello andy201071 and glad we didn't disappoint. Hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Best Western during the initial stage of our Maritime visit. We appreciated the proximity to Halifax ( about 10 minutes) by car. I really enjoyed the pool and the fitness rooms. These areas were very new, and clean, with great shower and change areas. My only suggestion is for the hotel to install shower shampoo and conditioner holders so that one doesn't need to bring the bottles from the room. Breakfast was adequate and we ate in an area normally used as a restaurant during the day. The view of the lake from the breakfast area windows was lovely, and had the weather been warmer, we would have enjoyed sitting at the outdoor tables overlooking the lake. Priced reasonably, we would definitely stay here again if ever in Halifax.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank atigrevlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Good day atigrevlis and thank you for sharing your comments. Come back when the weather is warmer and you can enjoy your complimentary hot breakfast on our deck overlooking the lake. It is everything you imagined and more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
333 reviews
Atlantica Hotel Halifax
#20 of 28 in Halifax
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
258 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £76 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing