We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to whom it may concern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 March 2014

enjoyed the staff, room and meals. great service. the dog was friendly. the pool water was warm. the hot tub was hot. sorry the i can't get to 200 characters but i really enjoyed my stay.xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxooxoxoooxooxoxoooxoxoxooxoxooxoxooxoxooxoxoxoooxooxoxoxoxooxoooxoxoox

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mervin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hello Mervin H and thank you for your hugs and kisses! We're very glad you enjoyed your stay :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

I've had the opportunity to stay at this hotel many times over the past 1&1/2 yrs while in Halifax on business. The staff are very nice, professional and fun to chat with. Jordan and Crystal were the two I met during my first visit and each time I come back they are always here with smiles and a warm welcome, yes and along with Cocoa. As I type Cocoa is behind me sleeping on the bed, once in awhile she will snort and roll over :)
The hotel is very clean, pool well taken care of, gym well equipped and rooms are comfortable and cleaned thoroughly.
A couple of iems I'm not impressed with. 1 - they have changed the way they have set up the breakfast buffet. Paper and plastic. Very cheap looking and not very appealing, and, 2 - they need to change up the menu more often, All the times i have been here the menu has remained the same for lunch and dinner. It would be more appealing to stay and eat here if the menu changed on a regular basis. Every few weeks would be nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hello John S and thank you for your review. Cocoa is not very lady like when she's sleeping! I'll have a chat with her about that. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team, they are amazing. I'm sorry about the paper and plastic at breakfast. It's a test to see if we can service more guests in a more timely fashion, however, it is still too early in the trial to draw a conclusion. You will be happy to know that the Chef is rolling out a new menu in the next couple of weeks for lunch and dinner service. Some old favorites will remain, but some exciting and delicious items have been added. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Best western Chocolate lake hotel a half dozen times. he hotel allows for pets and actually has a chocolate lab mascot. I personally do not own any pets at home but do find that the ambiance provided by the dogs presence gives a "home" feeling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hi Alain N, and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We look forward to welcoming you home again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have stayed here many times and love it. I been here in the summer, fall and winter. Beautiful. Staff is awesome! There is a hot and cold breakfast. Loads of amenities in the hotel and close to many attractions. Downtown is minutes away and Peggy's Cove is close by.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello Darlene K and thank you for your wonderful review. You are definitely a "seasoned" traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a great place to stay - a quiet spot in the city and close to everything.. Cocoa is a beautiful chocolate lab who is a wonderful welcome when you arrive. The rooms are immaculate and the beds comfee. Nice light breakfast in the morning to energize you for a fun day in Halifax. Cant wait to stay again !!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello Jackie R and thank you for choosing Chocolate Lake. I have to agree that are beds are indeed quite comfy :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

we have stayed at the best western before and are very satisfied with the hotel, we went swimming and the hot tube. we really enjoyed the free breakfast and surpriesed by the number of items that they had to choose from

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you Amanda M for your nice review. We can't wait to welcome you back to Chocolate Lake!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

5 star because you can't beat the value for the money. Is it a boutique hotel, no but they are definitely one of the most welcoming. Their secret, a dog named coco, a chocolate lab ambassador who greets you as you check in- it doesn't get any better than that! Oh yes - the rooms are spacious, clean and new -Great value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank NBrunswicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Hello NBrunswicker and thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. As usual, I see Cocoa has stolen the show. What's not to love about her? She is a keeper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Comfort Inn Halifax
#19 of 28 in Halifax
257 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £73 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing