We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There were both good and bad aspects to our stay. Firstly, the location is great with a wonderful view of Chocolate lake. The pool and spa area was lovely and they have adult only swim hours after 9:30pm for a bit of quiet relaxation time. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The morning breakfast was delicious, plentiful and well organized. There were only two things that left us slightly unimpressed, first was the fact that we were given a room with a birds nest just outside the door (we had a room at the end of a hallway) that woke us up very early in the morning. Secondly, we were spoken to multiple times in a condescending and undesirable manner by one of the staff at the front desk. We got the impression that it was because we are a young couple and it felt like when we asked for/about something it was bothersome to her. We had a decent stay but this definitely put a damper on it.

Room Tip: Not the room with the birds nest outside it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hello Jessica T. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast. As for the birds, my apologies for their poor choice of nesting habits. The good news is that we were able to gently relocate them so hopefully they'll stay away from our paying guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    449
    114
    37
    25
See reviews for
407
429
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent location, and service and we appreciated the little courtesies about places to eat and stay. It was a very positive experience and the room view was beautiful overlooking Chocolate Lake. We would most certainly come back to this location if we visit Halifax again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rocco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Rocco C and thanks for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chocolate Lake and to Halifax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

OK this is not downtown and not pretty from the front but if you have a car it is a great location and hidden behind the hotel is a lovely lake and the have some drive up units. Breakfast was good for a diabetic. Most of all I was a traveler in distress and profoundly tired. From the time I phoned them from the airport with limited funds to arriving exhausted the bent over backwards to help me. They squeezed myself and my dog into a room I could afford and the desk clerk personally seeing my exhaustion took my bags to my room. This is how all innkeeper's should operate. Bravo I was so impressed I wrote the CEO of BW International a letter of commendation. Oh yes my mother had just died but I never told them that. They saw I was exhausted and in a bind and just helped. By the way the room meant for pets was spotless

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello BDGates thank your for your kind works, and our sincere condolences on your loss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middleton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for a night , while my wife was on a conference in halifax. The property is on a sweet little lake in a great location within the city. It is pet friendly and their is a chocolate labrador retriever mascot who greets you in the lobby, it is cool to see the staff taking him for walks etc. The rooms are great, facilities, pool, fitness, etc, all top notch for a hotel of this caliber. I like this chain anywhere I travel. Great valu and consistent quality throughout all the hotels. This place has a good restaurant with convenient hours. Staff laid back and friendly, efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello Ronald W and thank you for your review. Cocoa looks forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was very clean. Friendly staff. Great amenities. Close to all shopping areas. The view of the lake was amazing to wake up to in the morning and also to watch the sun go down. There was a pool and the breakfast in the morning was amazing with a big selection including freash fruit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 859ronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Hello 859ronl and thanks for taking the time to share. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Travelled with my singing group to perform in Halifax. Stayed overnight. Very convenient location with reasonably easy access in and out of town and near our venue but not near downtown/harbour. All our rooms overlooked a lovely lake and were clean and nicely appointed. Very comfortable beds. Check in was very efficient and staff at the desk and restaurant were lovely. We had supper in the restaurant which also overlooked the lake. The food was delicious, reasonably priced and the service was excellent. Parking and a delicious hot breakfast were included. Rooms were quiet but then we seemed to be in a smaller, separate part of the hotel which may have been more quiet anyway. Would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Could have used a little bit larger counter in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Would ask for a lake view. It's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hello Gavcol and thank you for choosing Chocolate Lake and for "singing" our praises. Come back soon;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown PEI canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I find the cleaniess of this property the reason why I continue to return. The staff are always polite and helpful. I also find that it is nice and quite . It has nice grounds to walk around facing the lake. The kids always enjoy seeing the Coacoa the dog in the lobby, he is so laid back and relaxed. I also find that it is a very easy drive to wherever you may want to go, such as downtown or to the shopping district that is an easy 5 min drive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bonita324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you Bonita324 for continuing to choose Chocolate Lake as your hotel of choice in Halifax. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Homewood Suites by Hilton Halifax-Downtown, Nova Scotia, Canada
Downtown Halifax
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Address: 20 St. Margaret's Bay Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3N 1J4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#3 Green Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
#6 Family Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake hotel in Halifax, Nova Scotia is newly redesigned, offering you exceptional comfort in a gorgeous, convenient location. Visiting Halifax for business or pleasure? BEST WESTERN PLUS Chocolate Lake is the ideal hotel for you. We have everything you need and more, all in a tranquil lakeside setting. So trust the brand that makes travellers feel comfortable worldwide. This Four Star Canada Select property offers Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Parking, Free Wireless and Hardwired internet, Games Room, Saltwater Pool, Hot Tub, Exercise Facilities, Conference Facilities and the Lakeside Grill. We complete the experience with a resident Chocolate Lab named Cocoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Halifax
Halifax Best Western
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel Halifax, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing