We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$362
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cambridge Suites - Halifax(Halifax)
US$271
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coastal Inn Halifax(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake(Halifax)(Great Value!)
US$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,411)
Filter reviews
1,411 results
Traveller rating
668
528
136
49
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
528
136
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsview of the lakegames roomlakeside grillhotel dogsmall lakehalifax shopping centrepool and hot tubpeggy's covefree parkingshort driveclose to downtownfree breakfasthot breakfastfront desk staffexcellent staynova scotiahotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 1,411 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

There were both good and bad aspects to our stay. Firstly, the location is great with a wonderful view of Chocolate lake. The pool and spa area was lovely and they have adult only swim hours after 9:30pm for a bit of quiet relaxation time. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The morning breakfast was delicious, plentiful and well organized. There were only two things that left us slightly unimpressed, first was the fact that we were given a room with a birds nest just outside the door (we had a room at the end of a hallway) that woke us up very early in the morning. Secondly, we were spoken to multiple times in a condescending and undesirable manner by one of the staff at the front desk. We got the impression that it was because we are a young couple and it felt like when we asked for/about something it was bothersome to her. We had a decent stay but this definitely put a damper on it.

Room Tip: Not the room with the birds nest outside it
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello Jessica T. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and breakfast. As for the birds, my apologies for their poor choice of nesting habits. The good news is that we were able to gently relocate them so hopefully they'll stay away from our paying guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Excellent location, and service and we appreciated the little courtesies about places to eat and stay. It was a very positive experience and the room view was beautiful overlooking Chocolate Lake. We would most certainly come back to this location if we visit Halifax again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rocco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello Rocco C and thanks for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Chocolate Lake and to Halifax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

OK this is not downtown and not pretty from the front but if you have a car it is a great location and hidden behind the hotel is a lovely lake and the have some drive up units. Breakfast was good for a diabetic. Most of all I was a traveler in distress and profoundly tired. From the time I phoned them from the airport with limited funds to arriving exhausted the bent over backwards to help me. They squeezed myself and my dog into a room I could afford and the desk clerk personally seeing my exhaustion took my bags to my room. This is how all innkeeper's should operate. Bravo I was so impressed I wrote the CEO of BW International a letter of commendation. Oh yes my mother had just died but I never told them that. They saw I was exhausted and in a bind and just helped. By the way the room meant for pets was spotless

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BDGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello BDGates thank your for your kind works, and our sincere condolences on your loss.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed for a night , while my wife was on a conference in halifax. The property is on a sweet little lake in a great location within the city. It is pet friendly and their is a chocolate labrador retriever mascot who greets you in the lobby, it is cool to see the staff taking him for walks etc. The rooms are great, facilities, pool, fitness, etc, all top notch for a hotel of this caliber. I like this chain anywhere I travel. Great valu and consistent quality throughout all the hotels. This place has a good restaurant with convenient hours. Staff laid back and friendly, efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ronald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello Ronald W and thank you for your review. Cocoa looks forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was very clean. Friendly staff. Great amenities. Close to all shopping areas. The view of the lake was amazing to wake up to in the morning and also to watch the sun go down. There was a pool and the breakfast in the morning was amazing with a big selection including freash fruit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 859ronl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChocolateLakeHotel, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chocolate Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello 859ronl and thanks for taking the time to share. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews